Cakes / Nuts / Vegetarian

Eggless maple pecan cake

maplepecancakeslices.jpg

As you may have realised, there’s been a spate of vegetarian recipes on this blog. Not that I’ve suddenly decided to turn into a herbivore- god knows I could never give up my deep fried chicken or grilled prawns- but it’s Thaipusam next week and I’ve begun  my vegetarian fast for it. Thus all my recent attempts in the kitchen have been eggless and meatless.

I came across this recipe on Shammi’s blog a few months back and dutifully scribbled it into my recipe book, vowing to try it out soon. I even bought an entire bottle of pure maple syrup just for it. Well finally, I got down to it last night. 

.

Remember my research into eggless cakes last year? One of the things I noticed was that alot of the recipes called for buttermilk, cos the fermented milk makes the cakes soft and spongy, and gives it abit of lift, which traditionally comes from eggs. Shammi’s recipe asked for milk and lemon juice, presumably to create soured milk, akin to buttermilk. Since I had some Greek yogurt, I substituted the milk and lemon mixture with equal portions of yogurt and milk i.e. 1/4 cup Greek yogurt + 1/4 cup milk for 1/2 cup milk + juice of 1/2 a lemon. My theory worked I guess, cos the cake was fluffy and soft, nobody would have guessed it to be vegetarian. Following this logic, I think it’d be safe to substitute the milk and lemon even with 1/2 cup of buttermilk or with equal portions of milk and regular yogurt.     

.

Other than that, I have to point out that this has been one of my most successful forays in eggless cakes. Everything turned out great, the cake rose beautifully, filled the house with the most beautiful scents while it baked, did not peak, tasted great and was so so simple to put together. Best of all, it was yummy enough that I didn’t have to do anything more than dust it with some icing sugar before serving. Of course, if you want to make it alot more decadent, a maple buttercream sprinkled with pecan praline would make it the perfect vegetarian party cake.

.

~

Maple Pecan Cake

(from Shammi)

maplepecancakeslice.jpg

1 1/2 cups cake flour

3/4 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

6 tbsp caster sugar

1/2 cup chopped pecans

1/2 cup vegetable oil

3 tbsp pure maple syrup  

1/2 cup milk + juice of half a lemon

OR

1/4 cup yogurt (Greek or regular) + 1/4 cup milk

OR

1/2 cup buttermilk 

  1. Sift together flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt into a large bowl. Stir in sugar and chopped pecans.

  2. Mix together oil, maple syrup, milk and lemon juice (or any of the substitutes).

  3. Stir the wet ingredients into the dry ones with a large spoon until everything is just combined. Do not overmix.

  4. Pour into a 8″ square tin, greased and bottom lined with greaseproof paper. Bake at 350 degree F for 40 minutes until golden brown and a skewer inserted in the middle comes out clean.

  5. Cool in tin for ten minutes and then turn out onto a wire rack to cool completely. Dust with icing sugar or frost with your favorite buttercream recipe before serving.  

maplepecancake.jpg

A perfectly golden brown crust for the perfect eggless cake

19 thoughts on “Eggless maple pecan cake

  1. I’m nibbling on a slice of this cake as I write this. I stumbled upon your blog last night, and decided to bake this cake almost as soon as I saw it.

    Did anyone ever tell you your photos are wonderful? 🙂 Your blog’s a haven for sugar addicts like myself.

    Coming back to the cake, it was extremely crumbly as soon as I took it out of the oven. (Glutton that I am, I never wait for cakes to cool; I dig in immediately.) But it sliced very nicely the next day. All that oil gave the crust a deep-fried taste, and the cake wasn’t overly sweet.

    I might not make it again, however, because I ate 3/4 of the cake all by myself – in less than 24 hours.

    I hope you will post some low-fat recipes also.

    Keep up the excellent work!

  2. ooohh… you tried it!!

    when I read the beginning of your sentence on how you were not going to make it again, I kinda had a little baker-panic moment…. and then I continued reading it til the end and laughed out loud!

    Addictive compulsive eating is a good thing, if you ask me.

    And yes, I think I shall post a few low-fat recipes….for the occassional let’s-pretend-to-be-healthy days. *grin*

    Thanks for commenting on your attempt Terri, and for visiting!! =)

  3. Hey

    I TRIED IT! with a few modifications though ! I replaced pecans with cashews , cake flour with All Purpose Flour , Caster sugar with 7 tbs powder icing sugar+ 2 tbs granulated sugar. IT juz took around 22 mins to bake . The colour was lovely So was the cake 🙂 A definite must try!!!

    Thanks a ton for it 🙂

    Lav

  4. oooh, I lurve cashews! They must have tasted wonderful in the cake… I must remeber to try it with them next time. Thanks for providing substitutions Lav.. Glad you enjoyed the cake!

  5. Pingback: Vegan vanilla cupcakes with a not-so-vegan buttercream… and a Father’s Day cake « Taste Goblet

  6. Hi,

    I just accidentally landed on your site last week while searching for a recipe and enjoyed looking thru your huge collection of recipes with lovely pics!. Your site is so cool and especially the Father’s day cake is so lovely!

    Y’day tried your Eggless cake with Pecans and it turned out really great. However 2 in the family (incl. Myself) felt it was little less on the sugary taste. So I decided to add 2 more tbsps of sugar the next time when I make it. But I got a doubt about the sugar I used though. You had mentioned 6 tbsps of Caster sugar and I used ‘Extra fine granulated sugar’ by Dixie Crystals. Is that correct, OR should I have used some other kind. Just curious to know. But surely this recipe is in my ‘make it again’ list. Thanks for sharing.

  7. Hi Supree.. actually, you did use the right kind of sugar… caster sugar is essentially extra fine white refined sugar… I normally dust this cake with a thick layer of icing sugar, or frost it with maple buttercream, so I don’t need the cake itself to be very sweet.
    But of course, feel free to add a little more sugar to your taste! 🙂

  8. Hi ,
    can can i double the recipe if i need a bigger cake will it come out as good? What about the baking time. Can you tell me please . Thanks
    neetu

  9. Hi Neetu, doubling this recipe should not be a problem… I would reccommend a 10 or 11 inch square tin, same baking temp of 350F and start checking if it’s done after about 40 mins… I may take longer to be cooked through, check by inserting a skewer in the middle of the cake evey 5 minutes after the first 40 minutes is over. If the skewer comes out clean, the cake is done.
    Good luck! 🙂

  10. Pingback: Maple Pecan Cake « A piece of cake

  11. We have been making this cake using this recipe of yours for past 3 yrs and each time it has come out wonderfully well. I never thought earlier that a veg cake could taste so good 🙂 thanks to you for posting this recipe

  12. Pingback: And the winner is… « Heaven on a Spoon

  13. 13 июл 2008 Самые разные теории здорового питания, их достоинства и недостатки. Диеты, рецепты различных блюд.
    кремлевская диета диеты кровь диеты похудение. Обсуди свою диету с другими девчонками, сидящими на диете, на форуме о похудении. Хотите похудеть?
    Коллекция диет, рецепты блюд здорового питания, материалы о фитнесе, йоге, таблицы калорийности продуктов, счетчики индекса массы тела, общение на темы
    Скажите, пожалуйста, какой диеты нужно придерживаться? Спасибо! От аллергии на тополиный пух спасет диета Аллергологи советуют в период распространения
    15 июл 2006 Советы как похудеть, каталог диет. Раздел: Диеты для похудения.

  14. I made this cake yesterday and it turned out perfect!!!!!! I used the buttermilk and milk combination. Just like you mentioned, it is unbelievably spongy, fluffy and soft! My family loved it! Thank you so so much.

    Incase I want to substitute chocolate powder what would be the quantity?
    Hugs and Love

Leave a comment