Chocolate / Cookies / Vegetarian

Chewy chocolate chip cookies- eggless too!

cookieoriginal.jpg

Along with the million and one ingredients that I  have strewn all about my kitchen, in the valiantly noble notion of making use of them within the day is a packet of molasses cane sugar that I bought one year ago. Yes, one year. I guess I am no longer allowed to whinge over my mother’s complaints about me and my kitchen doings. Sigh.

Anyway, I decided to make use of this pack of molasses in a chocolate chip cookie recipe and it turned out wonderfully. Because it’s almost completely unrefined, the dark, sticky sugar, gives a very rich, toffee-like taste to the cookie dough. And that just goes so well with the dark chocolate chunks. And to add to the whole experience, I made these cookies jumbo-sized and chewy, just as toffee sweets would be. Trick is to slightly underbake the cookies and leave them to cool for a few minutes on the pan before transferring them onto a wire rack to cool. They continue to cook out of the oven because the pan and the dough is still hot so by the time the cookies cool, they are perfectly chewy, with the barest hint of crisp at the edges. So just be careful to watch the baking time!

I’ve made these cookies vegetarian by using this egg substitute that I got off a magazine. So far, it has worked very well for me in cookie recipes (haven’t tried it out on cakes yet):

1 egg = 2 tbsp plain flour + 1/2 tbsp shortening + 1/2 tsp baking powder + 2 tsp water

If you want to make it with eggs, just omit the above ingredients and add an egg, lightly beaten, to the ingredients that need to be creamed together.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies     

(makes 25 large cookies)

1/2 cup butter

scant 1/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup firmly packed molasses cane sugar

1 egg, beaten OR 1 egg substitue (as above)

 1 1/2 tsp vanilla

1 1/4 cup flour

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

4oz. chocolate chunks

  1. Cream together butter, sugars, egg OR egg substitute ingredients and vanilla until light brown.
  2. Sift together flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda and stir into creamed mixture until combined. Stir in chocolate chunks.
  3. Place golf-ball sized dough portions onto baking tray. Do not flatten. Bake at 170 degree F for 9 minutues until edges are barely browned. Remove from oven and let cool on pan for 3-4 minutes before carefully transferring onto a wire rack to cool.
9 thoughts on “Chewy chocolate chip cookies- eggless too!

  1. haha i’m the same, always finding stuff i bought eons ago in the pantry. and i always seem to do so just as they’re about to expire so they basically decide what i make 🙂 i used up my molasses by making chewy chocolate chip gingerbread cookies and almond and molasses moonrocks.

    btw, i just started a food blog couple days ago. okay if i link you up? when i figure how to that is?

  2. haha, of course you can! I love the look of that raspberry tart…can’t wait to try it out, even if those berries cost a bomb. I once bought almost 30 dollars worth of summer berries just for one measy 8″ cake. It was yummy yes, but I had to make do with plain crackers and water for the rest of the month. =)

  3. Whoa seriously, 30 bucks? I was just wandering around Cold Storage today, seems like i got myself quite a deal at Phoot Huat. Raspberries are easily going at 8 bucks for a measley 170g. Oh well, the kind of things we do for food..

    Love love your photos btw. Everything just makes me wanna eat it right off the screen 🙂

  4. Hey Guys,

    I want to do this reciepe for some people that are coming over for lunch. If any of you have made this reciepe… Is it sucessful?

    Please reply ASAP as the guests are coming on Saturday which is 5 days away!!!

  5. does n e one hv n e thing to say bout the cookie>>>>>>
    did n e of u try it >>>>>>>>
    was it n e gud????????

  6. is molasses cane sugar the same as molasses? i have the molasses that is hardened that i use in some Indian foods but i do not know if that is the same thing. also, is it alright to use light brown sugar instead of brown sugar– i don’t have a very large budget and am trying to improvise with what i have available until i get the chance to buy some more ingredients. and– if i use butter instead of shortening for the egg substitute, is the same measurement? please reply asap because my sister’s 18th birthday is coming up this weekend!

  7. oh my god, where have i been for so long without reading ur blog….my whole life as a wife has been wated…well its my 2nd anniv today, so was looking for 7 cups recipe…i aint gonna waste any more years….if u didnt know it by now, i think u r a god send 🙂

  8. Hi! I just baked the most delicious eggless cookie everr! Yes, I BAKED THE COOKIES (to those of you who are looking for a review). Actually, I’ve only baked two kinds of eggless cookies–shortbread and almond butter. Anyways, here are a few things I did differently/specifically.

    1. I baked half the recipe–thought I’d say so because of measurement differences. I halved all the measurements correctly, but the ratio of ingredients might have had a slight change, maybe…
    2. I used a fork to mix/mash the egg substitute separately from the main dough, and I added a few drops more of water.
    3. I used golden brown sugar, when it says “brown sugar,” and
    when it says “firmly packed molasses sugar,” I lighty packed the sugar (still holding it’s shape), but also added just a LITTLE bit of molasses syrup (2 tablespoons/whole recipe).
    4. I used a wooden spoon to mix dry and wet ingredients together, then used my hands.
    5. Instead of chocolate, I added marshmallows and M&Ms.
    6. I lined the cookie sheet with parchment paper.
    7. I started temperature at 170 degrees F for 9 minutes, then while the cookies were in the oven, I set the oven to increase temperature to 355 degrees F for 5-9 more minutes.
    8. When the cookies weren’t flattening by themselves after 9 minutes at 170 degrees, I flattened them just slightly.

    The middle is chewy, a very little doughy, and crispy on the edges. Definitely has the delicious toffee flavor -and I support the fact that you should not overbake the cookie. When it cools, it will be just right (but I prefer them warm right in between hot/cold). One suggestion would be to chew them really slowly–you’ll really feel the “chew” in your mouth.

Leave a Reply

