Chocolate / Cookies / Vegetarian

Korova Cookies

korova-cookies.jpg

These many people can’t be wrong.

For each word of the previous statement is a link to a blog/site that extols the magnificance of these cookies. And there are simply put, the best double chocolate cookies I’ve ever tried. With Varlhona cocoa, bittersweet chopped chocolate, organic fleur de sel, and pure European unsalted butter, I don’t know how I managed to keep my hands off these dark midnight beauties when they came out of the oven. Thankfully I waited for the discs to cool down – a little at least – before biting into one. It was pure unadultered chocolatey bliss I tell you. Sandy and buttery cocoa-flavored cookie dough promptly crumbled in my mouth, with bits of dark chocolate melting on my tongue… and then… unexpectedly, the salty hit of fleur de sel comes to the fore, bringing all that chocolately richness to new levels and depths. Made me swoon I tell you.

My photos are not that great but all you have to do is go to the links above to see exactly how amazing the texture of these cookies are. I love them so much (all the more because they are eggless. Hurray for vegetarian binging!). And I already have another log of dough in the fridge, waiting to be sliced and baked when the craving strikes.

 Which I predict ain’t too long away.      

1.jpg

Sifted dry ingredients and softened unsalted butter

2.jpg

Chopped dark chocolate… try to get them really small even though the chopping can be a bit of a hassle…they are best that way 

3.jpg

The dough before being rolled into logs- careful that you don’t overmix it. It should be sandy and a little rough 

4.jpg

The log tightly wrapped in cling film and ready to be chilled

korova-cookie.jpg

Baked chocolate bliss 

p/s: You can get the recipe from any one of the links above. I loved the one provided by Dessert First for its beautiful pictures and a very detailed recipe. Just follow the instructions (especially the baking times and temperature) and you won’t be dissapointed, I promise.

16 thoughts on “Korova Cookies

  1. sooo pretty…everythin…juz saw ur blog…sooo sooo pretty!!! love ya…n thanks for e awesome day u spent wit us tt day, MmMuUuAaHHh!

  2. Shammi, thanks for the faith in my photos =)… and yes, these cookies are out-of-this-world delicious

    Lakshmik, if I had one world to describe them, it would def be ‘so chocolatey’..haha, okie, maybe two words..

    Maya, at the risk of incurring the wrath of food purists, I think you could substitute it with normal coarse-grain sea salt, but it won’t have the clean crisp taste of fleur de sel. But am sure normal coarse salt will still give you yummy cookies as long as you use good quality cocoa and chocolate. By the way, I bought my packet of fleur de sel from Takashimaya. There’s a fabulous organic store at B1 (I think) that sells all these nifty items in the such classy packaging…

  3. Thanks Jacelyn, do try them out and let me know how it goes! =)

    Lakshmik, I don’t know if whole wheat pastry flour would work cos it’s much ‘heavier’ than cake flour, which is an extra-soft and light flour. The gluten content is also much lower that for the whole wheat. But I did find a substitute from Baking911.com that uses all purpose flour:

    1 cup cake flour = 1 cup all purpose flour minus 2 tbsp all purpose flour + 2 tbsp cornstarch/cornflour.

    Maybe you could try this and see if it works out? =)

  4. Pingback: korova cookies « she paints the kitchen red

  5. Hi… You had a great blog full of great photo too… I love most of your chocolate posts. I would like to try out this Korova cookies… hope it turn out just as nice as your….

  6. Hey.. i finally made these cookies for my mom for mother’s day and it was such a hit with everyone in my family..My aunt, who’s vegetarian loved it too. Thank u so much for the recipe links.. truly awesome yummilicious cookies..

Leave a comment