Cupcakes / Vegetarian

Henna-ed cupcakes

hennacakes.jpg

I’ve been wanting to try this out for the longest of times. The first time the idea came to me was when I was applying henna for my cousin… I was thinking of what it’d be like to decorate an entire cake with these lovely patterns. Then I really thought about it and decided that maybe cupcakes were a better idea cos it’s easier to decorate many small surfaces rather than one large one ‘cos you run the risk of ovecrowding the designs. 

.

I finally got down to trying out my henna piping skills and I must say I am quite happy. I wanted to get that rich reddish-orange color that the henna stain gives but I think my frosting went a bit too red. And I need to buy a finer piping tip as well cos this one gave lines that, in my opinion, were still not thin enough. Well, there’s always next time!

.

I made the cupcakes from a vegetarian cake recipe that I’ve talked about before, with slight variations. More orange zest,a  handful of walnuts and golden raisins for added flavor, and I filled the cups only halfway so that there’d be space to spread the buttercream level with the top of the cups after the cakes bake. After flattening the frosting with a pallette knife, I piped on the henna patterns. I must say, they tasted very yummy… the thin layer of buttercream complimented the buttery rich cake vey well. And next time, I may even add some grated carrots to the mixture to give it even more texture.

.

Anyway, I think these would be quite pretty at an Indian or Arabic wedding…I mean, you could even do the designs to compliment the henna on the bride’s hands! haha…I like that idea. 

.

.

Orange, Walnut and Raisin Vegetarian Cupcakes 

(makes about 14 cupcakes)

1 1/4 cups plain flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tbsp caster sugar

1/2 cup walnuts, chopped

1/4 cup golden raisins

grated zest of 2 oranges

1/2 cup orange juice

6 oz sweetened condensed milk

1/2 cup melted butter (measure liquid butter), cooled to room temperature

1 tsp vanilla 

  1. Sift together flour, baking powder and baking soda into a large bowl. Using a large whisk, whisk in a tbsp of sugar into the flour mixture. Stir in the chopped walnuts and raisins.

  2. Whisk together melted butter, condensed milk, vanilla, orange juice and zest.

  3. Make a well in the dry ingredients and slowly stir in the liquid mixture with the large whisk. Stir until everything is JUST combined. Do not overmix. The mixture will be lumpy and that’s perfectly fine.

  4. Spoon batter into cupcake holders and bake at 350 degree F for 20-22 mins until tops are golden brown and a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean      

    hennacakes1.jpg hennacakes2.jpg

The designs in all…

38 thoughts on “Henna-ed cupcakes

  1. so pretty!!!!! i juz realized you’re not only good in baking, you can actually be an artist or a designer! or are you one already? :p you’re just so good with your hands.

  2. Thanks everyone! I was so excited about designing these cupcakes and it makes me so happy to know that ya’ll like how it looks too!

    Evan… I wish I had the faith to jump into a creative job like that but for now, its a “safe” career as a research assistant at the local uni. =) The designer in me only works on weekends in the privacy of my kitchen. haha.

    Shammi, thanks for the comment and for that maple pecan cake recipe! It’s gonna be my vegetarian cake stalwart from now on.

  3. Amrita and Lakshmik, thanks!

    And mj, I used a very basic buttercream recipe for these cupcakes. 1/2 cup softened butter, 1 1/4 cups of icing sugar (sifted) and about 3-4 tbsp of milk. Cream all the ingredients together and continue to beat on med-high speed for about 5 minutes to fluff up the frosting. For the piping, I added coloring and a bit more milk (a couple of tsps) to get it softer so that the designs would be easier to pipe.

  4. Maya, Krithika and Archana, thanks alot!

    Geets, I love that visual! haha… Only thing is that they’d probably need personal servers to feed them the cupcakes since their hands will be otherwise ‘occupied’ with drying henna. The ultimate indulgence ya? *grin*

  5. OMG Chitz were these the cupcakes i missed?!? To think you did ’em specially for me (that’s right folks, she made them for me, FOR ME!)…i should have jolly well turned up for dance class. oh well…i love you and your confectionary concoctions/creations all the same *mwah*

  6. I have heard ‘ Death by Chocolate’!
    Well, this is the first time Iam dead by frosting itself….!!! Kewl ya, This one definitely goes into my To Do list…on ‘Emergency’ label…!!!

  7. This gotta be the best cupcake I have ever seen. The best part is, it’s so original!!! Well done and keep baking =)

  8. wow wee… this entry was posted wayyy long ago on january 27 but i dun care. these were lovely! i thought that i wanna try myself too esp during deepavali, to give away to our corporate clients. of course i will put a credit for you. i’ll let u know.

  9. Hi there!

    These are lovely. Reminded me of my wedding four years ago, we had a 3 tier wedding cake with henna design all over them, it was divine and went with the theme really well.

    That aside, you have a very interesting site. I’ve tried the Korova cookies and they are magnificent! Thanks for your generosity to share your lovely recipes.

  10. i like these deisignes
    thank you all of my friends
    i am sobia
    thank you again¬¬¬¬¬¬¬!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    thank you so so much

  11. Pingback: Sweet Sundays : Mehndi inspired « weddingberry

  12. Pingback: Sweet Sundays : Mehndi inspired : MixedWeddings.com

Leave a Reply

