Cakes

Collage 2007

I’ve been swamped with work, so much that I have not even had the time to take pictures of all the stuff I’ve been baking these past months. But the year is coming to a close and I’ve resolved to make time for this blog in 2008,  no matter how busy I may get. For now, here is a hodgepodge offerring of some of the cakes I’ve made in 2007, that I never got a chance to write up in proper posts.

Enjoy, and here’s hoping that the new year brings more sweet treats and delicious fare to everyone! 

birthday-049_edited.jpg

This was my very own birthday cake (yes, I am such a loser that I bake my own birthday cakes). It was a sponge cake sandwiched with strawberry and white chocolate mousse. Meringue buttercream, fresh strawberries and caramel almonds topped it off.

carrot-cake.jpg

Delia Smith’s wholemeal carrot cake with mascarpone frosting and pecans. 

vegan-cupcake-innards.jpg

Vegan vanilla cupcakes. So incredibly moist and fluffy, you have to taste it to believe it.

food3-001.jpg 

Oreo cheesecake. It turned out a little more dense than I would have liked… still hunting around for that perfect oreo cheesecake recipe. 

cimg4077.jpg

Delia Smith’s very sticky prune and date cake. Almost pudding-like, this had a gorgeous ‘dark’ flavor.

cupcakes.jpg

Vanilla cupcakes made to look like a flower garden 🙂

food3-006.jpg

Coffee cake sandwiched with coffee buttercream. How cute were the words in tamil… for a special granny so she could read the words on her birthday cake!  

food3-028.jpg

A chocolate raspberry confection for 2 special ladies in my dance class. I loved this cake, it looked and tasted so darn good.

fudgecake.jpg

My darling younger brother’s birthday cake. I came up with the combination myself, and it was soooo delicious, if I may toot my own horn. But really, this I was really proud of. A hazelnut and almond dacquoise for the base, chocolate truffle layer made with Varlhona Manjari, a sheet of devil’s food cake for the top, and everything encased with sweetened cream, chocolates and raspberries.   

22 thoughts on “Collage 2007

  1. Hi your coffee cake looks good. May I know what did you use for the coffee cream?
    The top looks so smooth and even. Thank you.

    Renee

  2. Hi Chitz, So glad you are finally back (big sigh of relief!)

    A Very Happy New Year to you, and may you always be blessed with the same enthusiasm and sweetness for 2008.

    The cakes above, wonderful and lovely as usual!
    Take care, regards, Mrs Singh.

  3. Happy New Year to all me dears, singairishi, natasya, meeso, amrita and mrs. singh. you guys are so sweet, and i hope with all my heart that the year brings you the best things which you all SO deserve! Thanks for following this blog and being so kind with your comments!

    And Renee, i sandwiched the cake with a coffee cream recipe. The top and sides of the cake however, were frosted with a simple meringue buttercream – i have written a post on it on this blog..

  4. I love what u done with your last cake!! The hazelnut and almond dacquoise base, chocolate truffle layer , devil’s food cake, and with sweetened cream.. WOW! I’d like to attempt it for my friend’s birthday. Can i have the recipe? Thanks in advance!!

  5. Oh. my. golly! I have never seen such an amazing collection of cakes!!
    I know I’ve just left a comment on a different post, but I must have read atleast ten since then – I’m getting quite addicted to your blog, :¬D.

    These cakes are sooo mouthwatering, are you a professional?

  6. okay so i downloaded firefox. i’ve been using firefox for a while, and all a sudden when i x’ed out my firefox and opened it again it wont go to websites, it wont even say page not displayed. it will just be blank. so i unstalled it and re stalled it and it worked when it was launched from the reinstal but when i x’ed it out again and opened it it showed blank. does anyone know how i can fix this????.

  7. I just bought a new computer and would like the same settings I have on my other computer. How do I go about doing this? The one thing I want to change in firefox on my new computer is when I type a website in the address bar I would like it to show my history instead of my bookmarks. I changed it before but I can’t remember what I did..

  8. How do I restore my computer to an earlier time when the “Restore” feature on my computer is not working. I have tried over a dozen times to restore my computer and I keep getting the error message “computer could not be restored to this date. No changes have been made. Try another date.” Try another date the same thing happens.. . All of my personal files were deleted from my computer and I want to get them back. Have no clue how this happened. Checked the recycle bin and none of them were there. It is as if they simply disappeared off my computer. Please help. Thank you!.

  9. I updated to the latest version, and now it keeps on coming up with that tab whenever i startup firefox. What should i do?. I have updated it, there is a tab saying that i have, that is the problem. It is telling me all of the new features that this version offers and everything..

Leave a comment