Chocolate / Cookies / Nuts / Vegetarian

Almond chocolate cups

food3-032.jpg

This is one of the cookies I plan to make for Deepavali this year. I had made some almond praline a few days back and decided to try to incorporate it into a cookie recipe. And I always like those chocolate-topped almond cookies that are so popular in the Deepavali fairs so I decided to work on that concept.

Dark chocolate chunks and praline were folded through the buttery dough. Topped with a swirl of melted chocolate, I thought these cookies looked good. But funnily enough, the praline gave them a milky scent that I really wasn’t expecting… I liked the overall taste, because it was something different. They tasted like a cross between chocolate chip and milk powder cookies. But my brother didn’t fancy it too much so I decided that for Deepavali, I’ll do away with the praline and just add plain roasted almonds to the dough. Remember to chop the almonds and chocolate very finely because if they are too big, they will form ‘pockets’ in the dough and cause the cookie to sink in places when they bake… which is fine, except that it’s difficult to pipe neat chocolate swirls when the cookie surface is uneven. And a note on the chocolate swirls: I usually just melt plain dark chocolate but Phoon Huat sells this chocolate topping (the brand name eludes me now, but i know it is NOT the Tulip brand. When I visit the store again, I’ll check it out) that sets well at room temperature and tastes quite good. When I’m making 100s of these for Deepavali and am pressed for time, I use the Phoon Huat’s chocolate because it sets faster.     

Almond Chocolate Cups

(makes 90 mini cups)

food3-026.jpg

2 oz almond praline or plain roasted almonds, chopped finely

6 0z unsalted butter, softened

4 oz sugar

1/8 tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 cup dark chocolate, finely chopped or mini chocolate chips

7 1/2 oz plain flour

melted dark chocolate, for topping 

1. Preheat oven to 350F. Place mini paper cases on baking tray. 

2. Cream butter with electric beaters for 30 secs. Add sugar and salt and cream on med-high speed for 2 mins.

3. Add vanilla, chopped almonds and chopped chocolate and mix on lowest speed until combined with dough.

4. Add flour and mix on lowest speed until just combined. Roll teaspoonfuls of dough into balls and place in paper cases. Bake at 350F for 13-15 mins until light golden brown. 

5. Once cooled completely, drizzle or pipe swirls of melted chocolate onto cookies.  You can also coat the entire top of the cookie with chocolate if desired.

6. Let chocolate set before storing the cookies in between layers of greaseproof paper in an air tight container. These cookies taste better after a day or two. 

Almond Praline

food3-002.jpg

1/2 cup caster sugar

25g salted butter

1/2 cup coarsely chopped almonds

1. In a small non-stick saucepan, place suagr and butter. Melt over med heat, swirling pan occassionally. If neccessary, stir lightly with a wooden spoon. Cook until a dark caramel color.

2. Stir in nuts, take pan off heat and pour onto a Silpat or onto a tray lined with greased aluminum foil. Spread praline with wooden spoon or silicon spatula and let cool completely.

3. Break into shards and store in airtight container. Can be used as cake decoration, chopped and pressed up the sides of frosted cakes or stirred through cookie batter.   

20 thoughts on “Almond chocolate cups

  1. So are these cookies or cookiffins (what would you call a cookie+muffin?) 🙂 That almond praline looks wicked wicked WICKED! Decoration, hah. I’d probably eat it right off the Silpat!

  2. hi chitz..
    when u say roasted almond its the one without the skin rite? hehe okok.. this loks really nice.. even with jus the swirl or the whole choc thing poured over… whats the other brand u were saying? or is the norm tulip, phhon huat or the other brand u were talking bout?

  3. Cookiffins!!! That’s a classic… you ought to copyright that Shammi! 🙂 🙂

    Nithya, yup i do use blanched almonds (the ones without the skin) here ‘cos I don’t like the bitter taste of the skin. If you’re not making the praline, then just spread the almonds on a baking sheet and pop the tray into a 375F preheated oven for 8-12 mins, until the almonds turn a light golden brown and smell nice and toasted. Cool completely and then finely chop. As for the chocolate topping, I’ll drop by Phoon Huat to find out the name of the brand and update you asap!

  4. u know what is even more amazing than u coming up with a list for deepavali sweets and all .. is the fact tt u also work and all ..
    How do u even find the time to breathe 🙂

  5. Thanks meeso and ovenhaven!

    D, I sometimes wonder when I’m gonna implode from it all, but then i tell myself, at least i’d have died from exhaustion doing the things i love. hah!

    Anu dear, I don’t take orders for Deepavali ‘cos I’m always crazy busy and don’t have much free time, what with thimiti and my own deepavali preparations at home! I’m so so sorry babe.. 😦

  6. Nithya, the Phoon Huat chocolate I was talking about is called cocoa block, it is the Bakeway brand that comes in dark brown and silver striped packaging. The product code is 13717 and it comes in 250g blocks.. hope you manage to find it!

  7. thanks so much chitz.. i will be going to buy my baking supplies on sat and start baking on mon.. 🙂 hehe i was wondering if i will be able to finish 2 cookies in a day.. hehe thanks so much! u have been such a gem of a person to help me out so much 🙂

  8. i actually went to phoon huat today, stared at all the blocks of chocolate and came back without buying any because i wasn’t sure which one u mentioned! i’m planning to make those chocolate coated almond cookies for diwali this year. kind of fed up of the bought ones where the chocolate tastes plasticy and feels greasy.

  9. Hi renuka, hope the description of the chocolate topping helps now… I know it can get mind-boggling when you’re at phoon huat. I myself tried out a few of the brands b4 deciding on the Bakeway one.
    Actually nothing beats the taste of real good chocolate but when I need something that sets fast as a toppping, this is one of the better tasting options. I hope you like it too..

  10. No problem Nithya! Good luck with all the baking… I’m starting on wed, planning to hit 2 cookies a day too.. let’s hope our hands and oven are up to the task! haha..

  11. yes i found it..thanks alot. it was quite good..but the chocolate taste was a bit mild for me so i added a few squares of old gold 70% when i melted the chocolate. taste was awesome 🙂 i like the fact that it was so easy to work with and set well too.

  12. Renuka, after your comment, I tried breaking a few squares of Old Gold into it as well when I made these for Deepavali and it was so delicious!

    thanks SO much for the suggestion, I love it.

  13. good to see that ur back! been checking ur blog on and off for updates. 🙂 am glad u liked the idea for the chocolate.

  14. Hi, I am a friend of your aunty Kala. I absolutely love your blog and will start to bake more often. When I am in Singapore I would like to order your butter cake. Take care. Kala Tharp

  15. My friend wants to read a story I wrote in a video on her Youtube channel. I’m concerned that my story could be stolen by some one, and have them claim it as their own, not that I think it’s really good enough for anyone to want to steal it. How likely do you think it would be that my story would be plagiarized? Is there anything Youtube does to try to stop plagiarism?.

Leave a Reply

