Cakes / Chocolate

Chocolate Oblivion Truffle Torte

food3-012.jpg

Have you guys tried the Chocolate Truffle Cake from Cedele? Not their Pistachio Truffle or their Chocolate Banana- although those are delicious in their own right- I’m talking about their plain truffle cake.  It is a decadent slice of pure chocolate bliss, on a bed of crushed graham cookies and topped with a heavy dusting of cocoa. The concept of the cake is simple and I have been trying to recreate it for some time. But most of the recipes I see for chocolate truffle cake are too dense. I don’t know if I can explain it in words, the amazing texture of the Truffle cake from Cedele. It is fluffy, light almost, but at the same time, so intensely chocolate-y. There is nothing that detracts from that hit of cacoa flavor, save for the thin graham crust, which compliments the smooth chocolate with a bit of crumbly crunch, a textural contrast made in heaven. My quest was to replicate this experience but first, I needed a truffle recipe that promised lightness in texture, but an strong chocolate flavor as well.     

I chanced upon Rose Levy Beranbaum’s Chocolate Oblivion recipe on many websites and food blogs and it seemed to be just the thing I was looking for. And with my spanking new Kitchen Aid mixer, aka Miss Purple Sunshine, raring for a go, I thought, why not?

With only four of the most basic baking ingredients: chocolate, butter, eggs and sugar, you really want to get the best stuff you can afford. For me, I used French butter and of course, chocolate of the same nationality 🙂 I recently bought Varlhona Equatoriale which has a lower cacao percentage (55%). I decided I’d use that for ganaches and other recipes that call for no or very little sugar so that the  chocolate is not too bitter. There are many people out there who don’t appreciate the bitter taste of premium dark chocolate, myself included. I see the value of the superbly balanced Guanaja 70% and I can detect the delicate floral, fruity notes of Manjari 63%, but when it boils down to truly enjoying chocolate in all its perverse and decadent glory, I need something sweeter, creamier and preferrably more milky than dark. So when I noticed that Beranbaum’s original recipe called for no sugar (or very little, if you decide to add it at all), I decided to use Equatoriale not only because it is a great chocolate, but it also isn’t too bitter.

A good decision if you ask me, because the truffle came out full of dark chocolate-y richness and taste, but was not too bitter. I made a base of crushed digestive biscuits and brown sugar (held together by melted butter) and slathered slighty sweetened whipped cream all over the top and sides of the torte and dusted everything with a layer of cocoa. 

Okay, I don’t want to brag but honestly, I think this was soooo good!! It was like I had a chance to play God and modify Cedele’s already amazing creation to come up with a MY uber-perfect truffle cake. An extra-thick buttery base layer, a truffle filling made with premium chocolate and lots and lots of whipped cream (which is the one thing I think Cedele’s version lacks). I so love knowing that I can eat something at a cafe, like it, come home, decide to replicate it, but kick everything up a knotch and end up with something as crazily delicious as this.

Digestive Biscuit Base (double recipe for 8″ tin)

50g butter, melted

100g Digestive biscuits

1 tbsp brown sugar

1. Grease bottom and sides of a 6″ round tin with butter. Line bottom of tin with greaseproof paper or aluminium foil. Butter paper/foil.

2. Break up biscuits into a food processor and pulse with sugar until fine and crumbly. Stir in melted butter and press into base of tin. Chill for 20-30 mins.

.

Chocolate Oblivion Truffle (double recipe for 8″ tin)

(adapted from Rose Levy Barembaum’s recipe)

food3-007.jpg

8oz/227g Varlhona Equatoriale, chopped coarsely

4oz/ 113.5g unsalted butter

3 eggs (150g without shell)

30g sugar

a tiny pinch of good salt (I used fleur de sel)

1. Preheat oven to 425 degree F.

food3-015.jpg

2. Melt butter in a large bowl over a double boiler until halfway melted. Add chocolate and stir until smooth. Remove bowl from heat and keep aside.

2. Whisk together eggs and sugar in another large bowl. Heat egg and sugar mixture over the double boiler until warm to touch. Careful that you don’t end up cooking the eggs, 4-5 mins over med-low heat should be enough to warm the mixture.   

food3-016.jpg

3. Remove from heat and add a tiny pinch of salt. Beat with electric beaters or whisk attachment until the mixture triples in volume and holds soft peaks. I used my KA for this step and it took sightly less than 5 mins on speed 6. (By the way, the new KA is amazing. She does all the work quickly, and frees up my hands so I can do other stuff. Love her!) 

food3-017.jpg

4. Fold half of the eggs into the chocolate mixture until it is almost incorporated. It is important that you fold the EGGS into the chocolate and not the other way because this keeps the torte light.

food3-004.jpg

5. Fold the remaining half of the eggs into the chocolate-egg mixture until it is just blended and no streaks remain.

6. Remove cake tin from fridge and wrap the outside with heavy-duty aluminium foil (or a double layer of normal foil). Pour batter into tin and place in a water bath i.e. a larger tray filled with enough hot water to come halfway up the sides of the cake tin.

7. Bake 5 mins. Then cover the top of the cake loosely with a large piece of foil and bake another 7 mins (12 mins for an 8″ cake). The cake will look barely done but it’s supposed to be that way.

8. Remove cake from oven and from the water bath and leave to cool for 45mins, in tin, on a wire rack. Wrap tin in plastic wrap or foil and chill at least 4 hours.

9. To remove cake from tin, run a sharp tin along sides and overturn cake onto plate/cake board. Peel off greaseproof paper and foil and turn over again onto serving plate/board.

10. The cake can be served just as it is now, maybe with a light dusting of cocoa. If desired, you can also whip up some cream with a bit of icing sugar and frost torte. Dust with cocoa. 

*tip: try to get the cake out of the fridge about 1/2 hour before you intend to serve it. It is when the torte filling is slightly soft that you can fully experience the fudgy, mousse-like texture of the truffle. What I do is slice into the cake whilst it is still cold to get neat cuts. Then I resist all temptation and just leave the slice out at room temperature. After about 15mins, I’m rewarded for my patience with a truly out-of-this-world slice of truffle torte, perfectly softened!   

37 thoughts on “Chocolate Oblivion Truffle Torte

  1. I go to Carrefour for French butter… they carry a few brands, from President (which you can also get at Cold Storage)at $3+ for an 8oz block to some fancy ones that cost up to $12+ for the same amount. But I’ve tasted them and used them in baking – worth the cash I think, because the taste is so rich and nothing like generic brand butter.
    As for Varlhona, Bake It Yourself at Novena and Shermay’s Cooking School at Chip Bee stocks their products.

    Since you’re asking where I buy these, I’m assuming you’re in Singapore now… welcome back coffeesnob!! 🙂

  2. all i can think of when i look at this, i why was i not invitd to ure house on the day u made this??? all kinds of mad. pffft.

  3. Because you gang up with people to scare the shit out of me when you see me in the train, instead of coming up and saying hello softly like a normal person.

    i swear my heart is still thumping away madly.

    but i shall be nice and next time this, or any other sinfully chocolatey dessert, gets baked at my house, you shall be duly informed.

    happy now? 😛

  4. Pingback: Chocolate Paradise » Blog Archive » Late breaking news

  5. Ohmygoodness. I’ve never tasted Cedele’s chocolate truffle cake, but this looks absolutely mouth-watering. I’m a huge chocoholic, and this certainly looks up my alley!

  6. hi.. this cake looks out of heaven.. i mean seriously.. hehe u are THE chef 🙂 i keep lookin to see if u have posted any recipes for deepavali goodies.. this is the first time i am home for holz and i wanna bakefor my family.. hehe i know i keep bothering u.. but ur bakes are really worth the bugging.. haha have a gd week 🙂

  7. its not my fault that you get scared by anu after having experienced the likes of raja n kat stanley. but yes i m appeased. n vjay wants brownies.

  8. like Poonaam, i also demand to know why Zhen and I weren’t duly informed when this miracle was unfolding in your kitchen, wah lau it looks HOW bloody good lah?

    P.s. We’ve all managed to wing Monday off work so wanna do a lil s’thin s’thin together? Zhen’s grand idea involves going shoe-shopping at some warehouse that supplies all the Far East shops.

    call me bella! i wan chocolate cake. (oh sorry, truffle…whatever..)

  9. This is anu saying a soft “hello” like a normal person. I usually don’t comment on anyone’s blogs unless its Poonaam’s and I have to say something mean. But anyway, as everyone would have already told u by now, u are Superb!! My mom likes you more than she likes me coz u bake so well! I am still having difficulties differentiating between baking soda and vanilla essence. But hey I am a fast learner. Anyway ur blog serves an inspiration to me.. I decided I should Never try to bake. Better leave it to the experts. When u do open a shop lemme noe.. I will send u a soft congratulatory card. OK Happy baking more great stuff!

    P.S Yours is the only blog I dream about (sheepish grin)

  10. Oooh, apparently aLOT of people love this torte! haha..

    Meeso, thanks! I’d love to bake it for you if you wish… then you can have the whole cake, not just a slice! *grin*

    Elyn, ovenhaven, Bernice, Amrita, you guys should SO SO make this… you’ll love yourselves for it, trust me. Just remember to get the best chocolate you can afford, it really makes a diff!

    Liz, that has got to be my favorite comment of the bunch! *smile*

    Maya dear, how can you say I’m your guru all?? No la.. just see recipe and copy only. 🙂

    Nithya, I feel compelled to post up some festive cookie recipes now that you said you want to bake for your family this deepavali! I’ve come up with a list of things I plan to bake and I’ll post it up soon, promise!

    Singairishgirl, COnGraTs! Kenwood or KitchenAid, new kitchen appliances are still such a joy! Have fun experimenting with your early xmas present! heh..

    banu doll, shoe shopping sounds fab. I’ll give you a bzz tomorrow… And are you veg for navarathiri? if not, chocolate cake may just come your way on monday..

    poonaam, vjay is my champion (i know you know what i’m refering to)and he shall get whatever he wants. ahaha. but when do i get to see you babe??

    soft-hello-saying anu, truly honored to see you here. Your mom sounds adorable.. i wana meet her! and plead with her to talk some sense into MY mom who complains that i dirty her kitchen with all my pots and pans. sigh. grass. other side. greener.
    and anyone can bake la, try try.. after some time, you’ll get the hang of it. or here’s an easier option: meet up with ms. p and come over to woodlands.. free treats waiting to be sampled by appreciative audience.

  11. Hi, I chanced upon you blog at the sweet ovenhaven. Congrats on your spanking new machine. I’m glad I’ve found someone who loves her kitchen aid as much as I love mine. I have had my kitchen aid 1st may 2004, its white and it looks like its brand new despite all the beatings. Its a fantastic machine and worth all the $699 I paid for it. It will live and serve you for many many many sweet years!Your Purple is such a cute color!

  12. hehe i was sooo happy to see ur reply.. i was jumping all over telling my mum, and she was laughing her head off.. haha i know doesnt sound like a gd sight rite.. hehe thanks anyways.. and yes ur purple princess is so pretty 🙂

  13. WOW…. WOW… WOW….

    Thanks for sharing this recipe! but i doubt i can make it as well as u did it. definately on my to-do list now. 🙂

  14. me and anu are appreciative audience! we will come. and as for meeting.. soon! friday? some friday?? since weekdays i am at the mercy of the bosses.

  15. happygrub, heh, yes it is reali nice to find like-minded kithen-appliance lovers out here! most of my friends think i’m crazy..
    and its great to here that even after 3 years, your WHITE KitchenAid still looks brand new! I’d never be able to keep something white spanking clean for so long…

    Nithya, the latest post is dedicated to you! 🙂

    Ida, I’m sure you can do it, better than this even! It’s a simple base recipe and you can go wild with decorations, or just keep it minimalist with a dust of cocoa ..either way it will look and taste spectacular!

    poonaam, I’ve got navarathiri performances this fri.. next week sounds good though. will call you… can come help me taste my deepavali trial-batch cookies. haha..

  16. i made this cute lil cake for my boyfriend yesterday, and i made two in cupcake form. these are crazy rich!!! it was like a shot through my head. i used cadbury old gold and it was a wee bit too bitter for me. but the consistency is beautiful. 🙂 i’ll post an entry when i have the time. 🙂

  17. i made this too!!! last night and kept it for tea today. there were only 3 tiny pieces left. it was very rich. a bit sweet for me but delish. my sis says it’s a delicious way to die. i used valrhona and i think it was well worth it. great recipe!!!

  18. Hye Maya! You sure got started on this like, RiGHT after Raya! hehe.. did you use old gold 70% or 45%? I don’t mind the taste of the 45% but I think the 70% is a too harsh and bitter for me. Maybe next time you can try a different chocolate with a lower cocoa percentage to make the torte sweeter?

    I know what you mean Liz, I always wonder if a recipe is going to do justice to expensive chocolate (or any other pricey ingredient).. I’m glad this one is more than worth it! Your sis sounds adorably hilarious by the way! 🙂

  19. chittu- like poonaam n banu im v upset. u know i wd hf skipped sch/tuition/appts/whatever to come n try it. u need commnets/suggestions etc etc. u know i wd hf taken a bus/train/taxi down just for this.yet u secretly baked this. im upset. PS*ur neighbour better not hear abt this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  20. Of course my neighbor doesn’t know anything about the stuff i back, thanks to you and your secret-keeping ways! haha. and as for deepavali cookies, can you please come to my house sometime next week?? I’m starting everything on wed and I’ll definitely need tasters! 🙂

    and let’s do some deepavali shopping!!

  21. This cake is delicious. I had a bit of trouble with the timing though. I did as the recipe said, but it took longer. I ended up just cooking it mostly without the waterbath because my brother spilled the water everywhere when he took it out of the oven the time the recipe said it should be done. It still tasted great. I live in America now so we couldn’t get the specified chocolate, or the digestives. We used a different dark chocolate, and graham crackers as substitutes. Could that have been the cause of my timing problem, or was it just my terrible cooking ability?

  22. Oh yes, I also had to use a rectangulartray that was made of glass…. I couldn’t help baking it like that I couldn’t wait. Besides It’s for my mum’s surprise party when she gets back from her trip to Britain this evening

  23. Hi Lydia, maybe it is the glass tray… the cake may have taken a little longer to bake. Or it also could be because our ovens differ in temperature… I have a pretty small oven and it heats up very quickly so I usually have to set it at a lower temperature and my cakes are also done in a shorter time than what most recipes say.

    Since eventually it tasted great -which is the most important thing- I’d recommend that you stick to the timing that worked for you and your oven! 🙂

  24. I love Cedele’s truffle cake and every time i eat it, i drool over it and think it must be really complicated to bake. However after reading your recipe, it seems fairly straightforward and am inspired to try it as soon as the occasion permits. You’d mentioned you have a small oven, could you please specify what make it is? Mines a built in ariston oven and although it’s very good, i find that i have to reduce the temperature than what’s specified in recipes. Another query i had was since i don’t have a Kitchen Aid, but a normal hand whisk, would that do?

  25. Pingback: Living to eat babyyy « Violent denunciations of a no longer teenager

  26. magnificent points altogether, you simply gained a new reader.
    What may you suggest in regards to your publish that you simply made some days in the past?
    Any certain?

Leave a Reply

