Cakes / Vegan / Vegetarian

Vegan chocolate cakes (not the topping though!)

 I purchased this book a few months back and I’m truly loving its recipes. I like the unpretentious way they are written and the basic recipes have so many variations, it really gets your creative baking juices flowing. haha.

Anyway, these were the vegan chocolate cupcake recipe that I baked as a 8″ cake. It came out perfect.. no doming, soft, moist and very fragrant. To dress the slices up, I spooned some melted white chocolate into a platic ziplock bag, sniped off one edge and drizzled the chocolate in a zig zag pattern on each slice. It was all topped off with a piped swirl of chocolate ganache.

Vegan Chocolate Cake 

(bakes into a 8″ square cake or 12 reg cupcakes)

-adapted from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World-  

1 cup unsweetened soy milk, room temperature 

1 tsp apple cider vinegar

3/4 cup caster sugar

1/3 cup canola oil

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

1 cup plain flour

1/3 cup cocoa (I used Varlhona)

3/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1. Preheat oven to 350F and grease and line the bottom of a 8″ square tin or line muffin pans with 12 cupcake liners.

2. Whisk together the soy mil and vinegar and leave aside to curdle.

3. Meanwhile, sift together flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

4. Whisk sugar, oil and vanilla into the curdled soy milk. Whisk until foamy.

5. Add the sifted dry ingredients to the wet ones in two batches and stir until no big lumps remain. A few tiny lumps are fine.

6. Pour batter into tin or cupcake liners and bake until a skewer inserted in the middle comes out clean. For cupcakes, it takes about 18-20 minutes, for the 8″ cake, I baked it for about 30-40 mins.    

15 thoughts on “Vegan chocolate cakes (not the topping though!)

  1. I’ve been admiring your recipes and pictures for awhile and finally get to see something new 🙂 This looks amazing, I love all the creative things you can do. This looks so delicious and very beautiful too!

  2. Pingback: Birthday And Wedding Cakes » Vegan chocolate cakes (not the topping though!)

  3. Hi,

    Can you advise me why can I purchase this book “Vegan Cupcakes Take over the World”? Is it available in Singapore? thanks

  4. Hi, going thru yr Blog to catch up! Lovely choc cake, as usual, but why do you say the topping is non-veg, is it the Ganache? We are veg on certain days, so this would be ideal. Tks once again for sharing, dear

  5. Hi Siddhu,

    The topping is vegetarian (no eggs) but it is not vegan. Vegans don’t eat dairy products like milk, butter, cream and eggs. As such, the ganache has cream in it, so I can’t consider it to be vegan.

    But for those who are only vegetarian, the topping is fine! 🙂

  6. I recently forgot to put eggs in a cake batter, and it worked, although it took about twice as long to bake up (it was very tasty too.) This was a recipe that called for buttermilk, but I used vinegar mixed with milk instead — do you think it’s the interaction of the vinegar with the baking soda that’s the key?

  7. Hi Linda, I do realise that almost all the vegan or vegetarian cake recipes I come across call for some kind of acid like vinegar, buttermilk, yogurt or lemon juice to help lift the cake (which is an important role of eggs in baking) when it reacts with the baking soda. But I think you can’t just replace eggs in a normal recipe with acid+soda… maybe a little more baking powder would be needed as well. hmmm, have not tried this substitution out ..

  8. Thanks Swati..
    Your work is amazing. I’ve been tempted to try my hand at sugarpaste decorations but I always chicken out because it looks so difficult.
    Your works really seem too beautiful to eat!

  9. Thanks ..Nice to know that you liked my work. Sugarcraft is easy ..u just need to gear up to start and then the path is so so interesting ..You are such a creative person that I think you should not have a hitch at all… Look forward to see you at my blog ..Cheers

Leave a Reply

