Chocolate / Cupcakes / Fruits

Cupcakes X 2

This post will have to last for a month, cos I’m flying off tonight and back only in June. May I suggest that you read it very verry slowly, savoring each word and picture…. if possible…. so that it dun feel like I’m away for so long?

 And as a further request to all you food bloggers out there, could you please -pretty please- limit your posts of gorgeous-looking desserts for the next four weeks? So that I dun collapse from the sheer exhaustion of having to catch up on all your amazing creations when I come back. *pouty look of desperation*

Anyways, this first recipe comes from Chockylit’s cupcake bakshop. It’s a hummingbird cupcake and I just loved the name so much that I had to try my hand at them. I loved the taste of bananas and pineapple; it’s the perfect treat to transport you to tropical summertime. The only thing I would do is to add more bananas and cinnamon for more flavor and moistness, cos the cakes did get a little dry. But otherwise, paired with mascarpone cream cheese frosting and a sprinkled with demerara sugar, these were a lovely batch of cupcakes that everyone loved!

hummingbird-cupcakes.jpg

Demerara sugar really is a very nice topping for these cupcakes cos they lend a pleasant crunchy texture that contrasts well with the smooth creamy frosting and slightly chunky fruit-filled cupcake.

 This tray of chocolate cupcakes were for my friend who got married a few weeks back. I wanted to give her something more than the obligatory money packet so I decided to accompany the cash-stuffed envelope with some mini-cupcakes. Money and chocolate… how can that not be the perfect wedding gift?? haha..

I got this recipe from 500 Cupcakes & Muffins, a beautifully illustrated book that Suegene bought me for Christmas last year. The resulting cupcakes were moist and had a light chocolate flavor. Frosted with some dark Varlhona chocolate frosting, they were gorgeously decadent and rich. But because I had to transport the cakes to the wedding and was not sure about the refridgerator-status at the hall, I chose to decorate these ones with meringue buttercream instaead, since they hold up much better in our warm weather. 

choc-cupcakes.jpg

Clearly, I went a little crazee with the mini m&ms and chocolate sprinkles. In my defense, I wanted them to look cheery… after all, this happening singleton was about to sign her life away into matrimony…    haha.

Devil’s Food Cupcakes

(makes 18 regular sized cupcakes)

225g self-raising flour

1 tsp baking powder

225g light brown sugar

225g butter, softened

2 eggs, seperated

100g dark chocolate, melted and cooled

1 tsp vanilla

115ml milk, room temperature

50g dark chocolate, grated (optional)

1. Preheat oven to 350F.

2. Sieve the flour and baking powder and set aside.

3. Cream butter for 30 seconds. Add sugar and cream until light and fluffy. Add egg yolks and vanilla and mix well. Add the melted chocolate.

4. Add the flour mixture alternately with the milk, beating well after each addition.

5. In a dry, clean bowl, whisk eg whites until soft peaks form. Carefully fold egg whites into the chocolate mixture. If using, gently and quickly fold in grated chocolate.

6. Spoon batter into cupcake liners and bakefor 20 mins, or until a skewer inserted into the middle of each cake comes out clean.  

8 thoughts on “Cupcakes X 2

  1. hi dearie.. all ur cakes looked so yummy.. i am drooling.. do u have the redipe for the meringue buttercream?

  2. Going to miss your posts TG. But at least I’ll have a little time now to try out a few of your cakes and muffins! 🙂 Have a lovely wonderful fantastic time away!

  3. Hey, if you are up to another online order for cupcakes, can you contact me?
    I have been fantasising about your henna cupcakes for ages now and would love to order some. You have my emaill address 🙂

  4. Hey everyone, thanks for all your well wishes. I’m back and India was interesting, to say the least… haha. Updates in my next post! =)

    Nithya, I have the recipe for it in one of my previous posts… . but here it is again just in case you can’t find it!

    2 egg whites
    1/3 cup sugar
    1/3 cup + 1 tbsp butter, softened
    a dash of vanilla

    1. Whisk egg whites and sugar in a heatproof bowl over a pan of simmering water until sugar is dissolved and mixture is hot to the touch, about 3 minutes

    2. Beat with electric beaters until stiff. Add butter in tablespoonfuls, beating in between every addition. Add vanilla and continue beating on low speed until the mixture thickens, about 10-15 minutes. The mixture will look soupy after the butter is added but will thicken up after all that beating. Don’t give up no matter how liquidy it looks.. it WILL thicken up! 🙂

    Nal, I’ll be happy to make you some cupcakes.. I’ll drop you a mail soon!

Leave a Reply

