Cupcakes / Fruits

Spanish Blood Orange Cupcakes

blood-orange-cupcake.jpg

Where do I begin?

I could start by apologising to all who’ve visited this blog for an entire month and not be greeted with updates of any kind.

Or I could try to placate my naggy friends who’ve been berating me for not posting anything new for eons.

Or I could list out all the reasons why I’ve been too busy/lazy to log on and blog.

OR.. I could do all three.

Firstly, thank you Shammi, Sangee and Priya for your comments… I feel so loved! *grin*

And secondly, to my griping friends, especially Zhen n Addie. It’s for ya’ll that I’m now sitting at my PC typing out this post. So no more making me feel bad about making ya’ll see the ‘same cinnamon cookies for a month’ k?

And finally, the big explanation for my tardiness: I’ve been so busy planning for my trip to InDiA!!! 

As you can see, I’m quite excited by the prospect.

I’m leaving with my cousins in exactly two weeks for almost a month and we can’t wait. It’s gonna be a busy trip, as we’re planning to cover most of Tamil Nadu, a bit of Andhra Pradesh and Kerala and then moving up North to Delhi, Agra, Jaipur and Rishikesh. Amidst browsing through guidebooks and websites, applying for visas, booking our tickets, getting vaccinations, reserving hotelrooms and planning our itinery, I barely have time to blog. But I haVE been baking, and dutifully taking pictures whenever I can so that at some point, I’ll be able to upload all of them and type out accompanying posts.

In that vein, I made these cupcakes almost a month ago and have finally gotten around to cropping and resizing the photos so that I can gte them on wordpress. 

A month ago, that’s when blood oranges were being sold in our supermarkets. They come in once a year only so you must be on the lookout… as soon as I saw them at Cold Storage, I let out a little yelp of excietment and quickly grabbed a bag. These were of the Moro variety, form Sicily. I ate most of them though, they have a very interesting tart sweetness… I know that’s quite a contradictory description but they really do have a sweet, juicy taste that is laced with berry tartness.

Anyway, I managed to save a couple of oranges from my greedy self and decided to make spanish syrup cupcakes. This is a cool recipe that involves stewing the oranges to realease their flavor. It also has semolina and ground almonds to give the cakes extra crunch, which goes very well with the sweet-sticky crumb, thanks to a liberal dousing with orange syrup whilst the cakes are still warm.

Spanish Blood Orange Cupcakes (makes about 15 cupcakes)

(recipe from 500 cupcakes and muffins)

naked-cupcake.jpg

2 medium blood oranges, peeled (reserve rind), deseeded and roughly chopped

115g/ 40z butter

225g/ 8oz caster sugar

2 eggs

60g/ 2.5oz semolina

60g/ 2.5oz ground almonds

60g/ 2.5oz self-raising flour

for the syrup:

1 peeled orange rind (from cupcake recipe)

100g/ 3.5 oz caster sugar

225ml/ 8oz water

 

1. Preheat oven to 160C/ 325F.

2. In a saucepan, cover chopped oranges with water and simmer until tender, about 15 minutes. Cool. Drain the fruit and puree in a food processor.

3. Cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs, one at a time, beating 30 seconds between each addition.

4. Gently stir in the rest of the ingredients, including the orange puree, until well combined. Spoon the mixture into cupcake cases and bake for 35 minutes, until a skewer inserted in the middle comes out clean.

5. Cool cupcakes for about 30 minutes and then spoon warm syrup onto each cupcake. Store in an air-tight container.

For the syrup: Thinly slice the orange rind, removing the pith. In a pan, bring the sugar and water to a simmer, stirring to dissolve the sugar. Add the orange strips and boil uncovered for 5 minutes.

cupcake-inside.jpg

cupcake insides …

11 thoughts on “Spanish Blood Orange Cupcakes

  1. They looks great! I love blood oranges. I have to try this out when they’re in season in Australia.

    I’m so envious you’re heading to India. I’ve always wanted to see the lake of udaipur.

    Anyway, it’s great to have you back 🙂

  2. p.s. i was also one of those who checked your blog daily for a month. hmpf(”,)but it was well worth the wait..i would lap up these cupcakes of citrusy goodness in a second..they look so yummeh!!!

  3. heya coffee snob, did you know that udaipur is considered by some as the most romantic city in India, thanks to those lovely floating palaces on the lake? 🙂 I’ve been to India 5 times already but I feel like its my first time all over again. I can’t wait! *grin*

    Ranjo-banjo… sorry for not updating for so long k? Hopefully, I get to do lots of posts before next monday, when i fly off!

    And Pat, these really are very moist cupakes. And you don’t have to wait for blood orange season either, they work just as well with normal oranges! 🙂

  4. Heyyy! Nice to see TWO new posts up 🙂 Ok, do I HAVE to use blood oranges? cant any ol’ orange do for this cupcake? Only asking b’cos I havent seen blood oranges where i live… 😦

  5. Hey Shammi, the original recipe calls for normal oranges… I just was experimenting with my recent blood orange purchase for this…hehe.
    But yes, you can most definitely use normal oranges!

  6. I recently got a blogspot for my mixtapes that I uploaded but when I search my DJ name (even full url), it doesn’t appear in the google search. Does it take about a week for it to appear or do I have to pay to get it to come up?.

  7. I have a new filming and editing businesses in which I run.. Its not a big popular job so I want to advertise it by creating a web site. How do I start a website thats not too expensive and its easy to use?.

Leave a Reply

