Cakes / Caramel / Chocolate / Ice cream / Nuts

Caramel pecan chocolate ice-cream…and cake!

food-008.jpg

As soon as I saw this recipe, I knew I had to try it out. The sweltering heat of the recent afternoons made me crave ice-cream real bad and honestly, I was NOT in the fiscal frame of mind to spend close to fifteen bucks on a miserably tiny tub of hagen daz. 

(On a side note, I know I must sound incredibly tight-fisted, but I’m not, really. It’s just that anyone realize that food is suddenly becoming more expensive, like overnight? Sugar prices have risen, a block of Lurpak is now frigging $3.55 as opposed to $3.10 last month, strawberries cost as much as gold….oki maybe not reeeaally, but you get where I’m going right? WHY? Maybe there’s perfectly sound economics that accounts for this price hike, but until someone explains it to me, I’m gonna lay it as a huge government conspiracy to starve us all to death. pffth.)

Anyways, what’s there not to love about this ice-cream? Intense REAL caramel flavor, toasted pecans and chocolate truffle chunks. I cooked my caramel alot longer, until it was almost a mahogany brown, which explains why the scoop of ice cream in the picture above is so much darker than the one on Adam’s page. Well, this I liked, with my natural love for all things caramel. But the flavor was a little too strong for others, like my brother who thought it tasted ‘funny’. So if you don’t really fancy a deep caramel flavor, but wanna try this out, I’d suggest that you cook the caramel just until it’s golden brown before adding the cream. That way you get a more subtle-tasting cream mixture, which still goes down well with the pecans and chocolate.  

Other tips I wold suggest is to make this a day -or two- ahead of when you want to serve it. For some reason, it’s near to impossible to churn the cream mixture into ice-cream consistency. Even after 30minutes in my ice-cream maker, the mixture was still soupy. But I poured it into a bowl and put it back in the freezer overnight and by the next day, it became creamy and scoopable. 

Another thing worth doing is to brush the pecans with a bit of salted butter before toasting them as this gives the entire experience of eating the ice cream such a kick. Salt, by far, is such a underated ingredient in desserts.

So, if you have some…okay, ALOT… of cream on your hands, now’s the time to bring that forgotten ice-cream maker out of the store room and churn up this delectable confection. You’ll love yourself for it, trust me.

 food-014.jpg

Just wanted to post this picture of a birthday cake I baked for Geetha, the lady behind this lovely site. It was a chocolate fudge cake, sandwiched with bananas & chocolate ganache, and covered with sweetened whipped cream and almond praline. I dunno how it tasted (although I had good reviews so yay!) but I really enjoyed piping the designs on the cake. I used pale orange and pink frosting and I really liked how the colors looked on the white cream.  

5 thoughts on “Caramel pecan chocolate ice-cream…and cake!

  1. arghhhhhhhhh this is sooooooooo pretty!!!!! i’ve yet to try out yr choc fudge cake recipe… must find an occasion to do so. 😀

  2. next yr..for my bday, im sooo making an order with you! something utterly smothered in chocolate i think! 😉 the cakes look soooooo good.

  3. Geets and Sha, you guys are just so cute la. Again, thanks!!

    And Mariya, if you do try it, let me know how it turned out k? This time round, I didn’t use half of bittersweet and half of semisweet chocolate.. I just went all the way with my Varlhona Guanaja (70%) and I think that just made the cake so much more decadent. mmm. hehe. Looks like i need to make another trip to my trusty bake shop to top up my supply of designer chocolate, the way I’m using it up…*grin*

    sangeeta, I’d be glad to bake something for you…and kudos to the smothering! haha…

Leave a Reply

