Fruits / Pies & Tarts

Lemon Tart

Of all the online food portals, epicurious.com is probably one of the more well-known and reputable ones, at least with most bloggers. However, I always seem to be jinxed with the recipes I try out from it, even when they are accompanied by multiple glowing reviews. Cakes don’t rise, oven temperatures are off, and the flavor of the finished product seems to be missing something. However, when I saw this recipe, I put aside my misgivings about the website and decided to give it a try. The reviews for this lemon tart were so full of praises that I figured it’d be a safe bet.

BUT….. the curse was clearly still upon me. The tart shell was okay…but not crisp enough. And it cracked quite badly, causing some of the filling to ooze out and that made the base a little soggy. But the real doozer was the filling. It was a clumpy and the flavor of the vanilla bean wasn’t that prominent. =( It was such a sad waste cos the ingredients were not all that cheap either, what with the cream and vanilla pods…. 

Hmmm, I think I shall stick to me favorite recipe portal, Allrecipes, from now on.

pastry.JPG

The tart shell dough, just coming together in the food processor. See how much I tried to ensure that it wasn’t overworked so that the pastry will be fluffy. =[

baking-blind.JPG

Baking blind, where you weigh down the tart shell with rice grains so that it bakes evenly without puffing up

 lemon-tart.JPG

A lacklustre slice of lemon tart…a dollop of mascarpone seemed to help to lift up the flavor a little…but still.

4 thoughts on “Lemon Tart

  1. Gah, that’s always the risk with such sites. I actually started with Allrecipes when i first started cooking, had a whole mix of hits and misses there.

    Oh well, better luck with your next ‘experiment’ on those sites next time! 🙂

  2. heh…guess I’m just lucky with allrecipes, if I had problems there as well I probably would have sworn off online recipe searches altogether. geargh!

    and thanks for the comment on the marble cake Maya…Good luck for when you’re trying it! =)

Leave a Reply

