Cakes / Chocolate / Fruits

Daddy’s birthday cake

bdaycake.jpg 

Remember Christine France’s chocolate fudge cake? I never had a chance to taste it and have been waiting for a chance to attempt it again for a special occassion… one where I’ll be present for the tasting session. Daddy dearest’s birthday was the perfect opportunity then. And with all the good-natured nagging he gets from my diet-watchdog mom, I thought he truly deserved a good ‘ol artery-clogging fudge cake on his special day. And not just any ‘ol fudge cake, but one with real melted dark chocolate, sandwiched with sliced bananas and smothered with chocolate ganache. Overkill?

Not so. It tasted DE-ViNE. Definitely not an everyday birthday cake…more like a rich dessert slice. Dense, fudgy cake with a rich frosting and the creamy sweetness of bananas. I’m so sorry I couldn’t get a picture of the cake slice but by the time I came back after savoring my portion, there wasn’t much cake left to take a picture of. So I guess you’ll just have to trust me on this one.   

8 thoughts on “Daddy’s birthday cake

  1. i’ve said this and will say this again, your cakes are immaculate. really. i suck at whole cakes. the frosting and all. pfft! :p job excellently done. 🙂

  2. Shalini, I am honored at helping along with the inspiration. haha.

    And Maya, really, it’s not that hard…nor do I think I’m that good. Alot of people out there do much more mouthwateringly gorgeous cakes and I’ve so much to learn! =) But thank you for your words of praise…as always, it makes my day!

  3. Thanks Jacelyn! I just used Martha Stewart’s chocolate ganache to frost this cake. I’ve given my modified version of the recipe in a previous post entitled ‘Chocolate on Chocolate and Fruitcake Verdict’…

    Anyway, here it is just in case you have trouble finding it:

    (makes enough to fill and coat a 9″ cake plus more)

    2 cups (500ml) whipping cream

    1 pound semisweet chocolate, chopped (I used Cadbury Old-Gold and Ghirardelli)

    1/8 cup golden syrup

    1/8 tsp salt

    1. Bring the cream to a full boil in a small saucepan. It should get all puffy and rise up. Quickly switch off the heat and pour in the chopped chocolate. Using a whisk, slowly stir until the chocolate is melted and the mixture is smooth.

    2. Stir in the syrup and salt. Transfer into a clean bowl and let cool. Frequently stir the mixture during this time.

    3. Bung the bowl into the fridge to thicken, about 30mins, stirring vigorously with a whisk every 5-10 mins.

    4. Remove the ganache from the fridge and beat on med-high until the ganache thickens, about 5-10 minutes. Use immediately or if you think its too soft, put it back in the fridge to thicken a little.

    Note: It is a little fiddly, this ganache, but it tastes great….rich and creamy…of course, the finished product solely depends on the quality of the ingredients that goes into it. Use good quality chocolate…it makes a helluva difference.

  4. When the programme was first broadcast there was a rule that no questions could be asked on topics that had been discussed in the Houses of Parliament during the last two weeks. ,

Leave a Reply

