Crumble / Fruits / Vegetarian

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

apple crisp slice

It’s ben a while I know… my apologies. It’s been a busy two weeks and I finally got some spare time on my hands.

Anyways, this apple oat crisp is one of the regulars in my torn and tattered reipe binder. Easy peasy to put together and vaguely healthy. Vegetarian too. And a much easier attempt than apple pie, for those cold days when you crave the warmth cinnamony stewed apples but don’t exactly possess the mental determination or upper arm strength required to roll out oft temperamental pie dough.

The only iffy thing about it is the the adding of sugar. Green apples rarely have unifrm tastes..some times they are very tart and some fruits have alot more sweetness. This amount of sugar is for decidly tart apples, if your fruit is sweeter, please reduce the sugar.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

6 Granny Smith Apples (sour)

½ cup caster sugar (reduce if apples are sweet)

½ tbsp flour

1 tsp ground cinnamon

¼ cup water

¾ cup quick-cooking oats

¾ cup flour

¾ cup brown sugar

¼ tsp baking powder

¼ tsp baking soda

95g / 3/8 cup butter, melted 

1. Preheat oven to 375 degree F.

2. Thinly slice apples and place into bottom of an 8” square tin.

3. Mix together caster sugar, ½ tbsp flour and cinnamon and sprinkle evenly over the apples. Sprinkle water over the fruit mixture. 

cupcakes-022.jpg

4. Combine the oats, ¾ cup flour. Brown sugar, baking powder, soda and melted butter with a fork to make the crumble topping. Using your fingers, crumble the topping over the fruit.

cupcakes-023.jpg

5. Bake for 45-60 mins until the topping is golden brown.

6. Serve warm with ice cream…vanilla being my choice.

21 thoughts on “Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

  1. finally another post from you chitz :p this looks great! i’m a fan of apple pies, apple crumble, whatever lol. oat topping is something different, must give it a try when i’m not so tied up. thx for sharing =)

    keep the great entries coming!!

  2. Thanks Evan! I kinda missed blogging actually…been baking so much the past week but absolutely no time to take pics of anything or write baout them…been hit by the festive baking! And speaking of festive, that xmas log cake you made looks so so pretty!! Am sure it tastes fabulous too!

    Hope you get some free time to blog cos am really missing your mouthwatering creations! =)

  3. hey chitz, i don’t think im gonna blog at the moment, probably after CNY. you can actually look at the pics i put up at flickr, so you won’t miss my “mouthwatering creations” too much :p the pics are here :

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/bossacafez/

    you can comment on the photos if you like but u need to log in using your yahoo ID =)

    also, thx for the compliments on the log cake! im still trying to improve. its quite tricky to roll up the swiss roll w/o breaking.

  4. Hi taste goblet,
    I want to make this for my Mom any chance that sweetners like splenda would work as well in place of sugar? Your vegetarian recipes are a great help. Thanks for sharing

  5. hey Neetu..
    i’ve never worked with artificial sweeteners before so I can’t really say how it’d turn out. But because this recipe calls for fruit, you can play with its natural sweetness. You could replace red apples for green… that way you need to add very little sugar to the fruit mixture as red apples are sweet on their own. And maybe, you can reduce the amount of brown sugar in the topping and add some raisins to sweeten it instead??
    Hope it turns out well for ya mom!

  6. Pingback: arewethereyetmom.com » Blog Archive » Thursday Thirteen # I’ve lost track!!

  7. Hello,

    I wanted to make an apple crisp, so I google imaged “apple crisp” and I searched for the best looking recipe. Your slice was the nicest looking so I checked out the recipe and it wasn’t too hard to make. I just made it and it tastes awesome. I accidentally added too much brown sugar because the recipe called for 3/4 cup brown sugar. I thought I had a 1/4 cup scoop so I added three of those but it turned out to be a 1/3 cup scoop–not a problem, it’s still good.
    Then, if that wasn’t enough–I checked out your profile and if this is really you–You look hot!!
    good tasting crisp and good looking cook.

    Thanks

  8. JS,
    Great that you liked how the crisp turned out. You’re lucky you have a sweet tooth! But then again, how can too much brown sugar ever be a bad thing? ha.
    And yes, that is me in the profile picture… good to know that i have passable looks.
    *grin*

    thanks for making my day! 😛

  9. I was looking online for an apple crisp recipe and I google imaged “apple crisp” and thought that this pic looked like the best apple crisp online, so yesterday I made it using your recipe. It was *awesome* — thanks so much for posting!

  10. I have not read too many good things about Webfetti – mainly people wanting to remove it from their computers, so I’m looking for alternatives that I do not need to install.. Do you have web-sites where I can copy codes from to change the layout of my blogspot blog? The templates on blogspot are fine to get you started, but I’m ready for a change..

  11. I have an essay in Microsoft Word format which I want to copy/paste into my blogspot blog. But every time I do this, I get error messages from blogspot about all the weird Word coding, and then it comes out looking all crazy format-wise. How can I strip the text of all the Word junk?. . I don’t know anything about HTML..

  12. I put a WordPress blog on my website a few days ago, and I was just curious about how it works. So I just want to know if all the posts are saved into a single file or if they are separate for each post. Then I also want to know where they can be found on my server. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

