Cakes / Chocolate / Fruits

Chocolate on chocolate…and fruitcake verdict

 food-016.jpg

This might be one of the best birthday chocolate cakes I’ve made…I’ve never fancied really rich, gooey cakes for birthdays cos there’s always so much other food and the super fanciness and decadence of the cake will most likely be lost on the guests who have to eat chicken wings, pizza, fried fishballs, cocktail sausages and a slice of cake all at the same time. And who wants to eat dessert-quality chocolate cake on a small paper plate with a flimsy plastic fork? At the same time, that doesn’t mean birthday cakes have to be cheap and unmemorable…you have to get that right combination of spongy cake and creamy frosting which is not too rich and cloying but at the same time, flavorful enough to have guest enjoy the cake even though they may be eating it in less-than-ideal conditions.

And I think this hits the spot quite perfectly. An old-fashioned chocolate cake, sanwiched and covered with a thick layer of creamy chocolate ganache and topped with sweet buttercream and fresh strawberries. Not too bad, if I say so myself. *smile*

The cake recipe was adapted form Chocylit’s latest cupcake creation. I used the recipe, added a teaspoon of baking powder, reduced the coffee by half and baked it in a 9″ round tin to get one tall cake which I then halved. The cake was really yummy and the coffee was just enough to give the chocolate flavor some depth without having any pronounced coffee taste. The layers were then sandwiched with Martha Stewart’s chocolate ganache. I must say however, that the recipe, as it appears on her site, did not work for me at ALL. The ganache never thickened, even after I whipped it for over ten minutes…maybe it was the sweltering heat, I dunno. But I modified the recipe a little, and thankfully it came out fine…only that the ganache definitely needs constant refridgeration. Anyways, I coated the cake with one layer, then kept it in the fridge for about 30mins, then gave it another coat of ganache. Again in the fridge for another 30 minutes before piping on the buttercream and decorating with fruit. Another chilling session for at least 3 hours before serving.

This is my version of the ganache…

(makes enough to fill and coat a 9″ cake plus more)

2 cups (500ml) whipping cream

1 pound semisweet chocolate, chopped (I used Cadbury Old-Gold and Ghirardelli)

1/8 cup golden syrup

1/8 tsp salt

1. Bring the cream to a full boil in a small saucepan. It should get all puffy and rise up. Quickly switch off the heat and pour in the chopped chocolate. Using a whisk, slowly stir until the chocolate is melted and the mixture is smooth.

2. Stir in the syrup and salt. Transfer into a clean bowl and let cool completely, about 45 mins. Frequently stir the mixture during this time.

3. Bung the bowl into the fridge to thicken, about half and hour to 45 mins, stirring vigorously with a whisk every 5-10 mins.

4. Remove the ganache from the fridge and beat on med-high until the ganache thickens, about 5-10 minutes. Use immediately or if you think its too soft, put it back in the fridge to thicken a little.

Note: It is a little fiddly, this ganache, but  it tastes great….rich and creamy…of course, the finished product solely depends on the quality of the ingredients that goes into it. Use good quality chocolate…it makes a helluva difference. 

By the way, we finally cut slice of the month-old fruitcake and I have to say, it was worth the wait. Dark and sweet, my dad proclaimed it “solid”. haha. I think brushing it with orange juice every few days worked cos the slices had a pleasant citrusy fragrance…I think I’ll bake one within the next few days for Christmas.

 food-022.jpg

15 thoughts on “Chocolate on chocolate…and fruitcake verdict

  1. YOUR CHOC CAKE IS FABULOUS! i really envy yr decoration skills. i think i shall use that recipe for an upcoming cake order. do you think it’s wise to replace with self-raising flour instead? and yr buttercream… is it the normal icing sugar + butter type?

  2. Hi Maya…thanks…its not that fab la, my decorating skills. I think it’s all in the tip …I find really large star ones which makes it easy to do the swirls. But thanks nonetheless! *smile*
    And I don’t think S.R. flour should be used because it’ll make the cake rise too much and it’ll peak…might even overflow… as it is, this makes quite a tall cake.
    And I’ve modified my buttercream abit…I cream 1/2cup butter with about 1 1/2 cups icing sugar (sifted) for about 5mins, add 2 tsp of vanilla, 1 tbsp milk and about 5 tbsp whipping cream…and continue to cream for another 3-5 mins. I found out that the whipping cream really thickens the frosting so I dun have to add too much sugar.. which is a good thing.

    p/s: Duno if this helps, but normally I only use this buttercream for piping and decorating. If I’m frosting the entire cake, I’ll make a meringue buttercream ‘cos that’s more smooth..

  3. Hi Florence, because of our humidity, I tightly wrap the cake in cling wrap and foil and store it in the fridge…and take it out to thaw about twenty minutes before I want to serve it..
    hope that helps!

  4. Hi Amrita…normally I only use the powdered sugar buttercrea, kind for swirls and decorations because it holds its shape well (my version given in one of the comments above). If I’m frosting or filling the entire cake, I use a meringue-based buttercream cos I find that alot tastier and smoother too…

  5. Hello TasteGoblet (cute name),

    Greetings from Perth!

    Love ur blog and all the lovely pics of gorgeous cakes. Very inspiring…got me excited. Rushed to cake supply shop to get the big star tips. I’m a total novice at cake decoration. Attended an icing class 3 weeks ago, but didn’t get as inspired as drooling over ur pics. Hehehe.

    Tried ur Buttercream icing this morning. Didn’t work out for me lah. When i creamed the butter & icing sugar, they were like bread crumbs. Until about 8-10 mins, they turned into dough-like looking blob which attached to the mixer paddle. I persevered to add milk & cream. The mixture came out grainy….and errr…kinda not fluffy. Any idea what went wrong…or is it meant to be like that?

    As I’m originally from KL before moving to Perth, I soooo miss the cakes from home esp Secret Recipe and La Manila. Surprisingly, the cakes available here are not so yummy nor eye-candy material. Going to try some of ur easy recipes, to see whether i can go beyond my usual Butter & Chocolate cakes 😀

Leave a Reply

