Cheesecakes / Fruits

Maya’s blueberry cheesecake

I love this picture cos it looks like the cheesecake is shying away. haha.

 After such a long time since Maya so graciously posted this recipe on her blog, I finally had the chance to try it. It’s a blueberry cheesecake and I must admit, I was a little taken aback by the seemingly massive amount of cream that went into it at first…but then last night as I was flipping through some of my books, I realized that the recipe is very similar to Gary Rhode’s American cheesecake…with just as much cream and eggs. You can call this cake anything you want, but healthy it is not. Haha. 

But who cares about health when it tastes so darn good? Lusciously light and velvety, the cream cheese layer is just amazing, and it goes superbly well with the blueberry filling and digestive biscuit crust (I added the optional brown sugar to give it a little sweetness…and I also added 30g more caster sugar to the filling. Clearly, somebody has a sweet tooth!). I’m already anticipating my next slice. Yum. 

As you can see, I didn’t top the cake with the blueberry filling cos I loved how the crust browned so perfectly and I had to just show it off. *grin* And I don’t know if the blueberry filling should have sank to the bottom of the cream cheese layer as it did but the cheese mixture was a lot more thin and watery than the fruit so the blueberries naturally just went under… Aesthetic queries aside, this is a must-try and must-eat cheesecake! Thank you so much Maya!

6 thoughts on “Maya’s blueberry cheesecake

  1. ooooooooo your slice looks superb! 😀
    the brownie turned out well too! my bf loves it and he just brought a slice for me today and it’s so nice!:D (haha self-flattery) :p but thanks to yr recipe!

  2. Geet, Lakshmik and Wenn, thanks for the lovely comments! It is a superbly yummy cake and ya’ll should definitely try it out!
    And Maya, all the credit goes to you for posting the recipe…thanks again! And it’s great that your bf liked the brownies…btw, a bit self-flattery is absolutely accepted -if not required- after you’ve slaved at the kitchen for hours churning out delectable treats one after another. haha!

  3. Hi, I can’t find the cheesecake recipe on Maya’s site. Would you mind sharing it with me? My bf loves cheesecake… I really want to give him a surprise and urs look delectable. =)

Leave a Reply

