Chocolate / Slices

Best Cocoa Brownies

brownie.jpg

I had posted about my brownies a long time ago, on my previous site, but I think as the days have gone by, I’ve managed to refine the recipe to create an even better fudge brownie. Gooey, dense and filled with the best stuff that any brownie would be proud to hold within its chocolately folds: toasted buttery pecans, milky white chocolate buttons and bittersweet dark chocolate chunks. And while I don’t know if it is DA best brownie recipe out there, I can honestly say nobody has anything but praise for it when they try a slice. My girl Cheri made the most adorable yummy noises when she dug into them at a Deepavali get-together at my place last week and I felt that those sounds were good enough reason to blog about these brownies today. *grin*

It’s the simplest recipe too, you can put it together in a single bowl, and washing up is minimal. And I think best of all is that it uses ingredients you most likely have on hand anyway- great for those sudden chocolate cravings. No need for expensive chocolate bars, cocoa powder will do. And feel free to experiment with all the yummy additions. Walnuts, pecans, hazelnuts, butterscotch chips, chocolate chunks, mint, anything goes. But as with all things chocolate, do make it a day before you plan to serve it… and DO NOT overbake these babies. You want fudgy, oozing chocolate brownie centers, not dry bits of hard chocolate cake. And another trade secret if you will… add the toasted nuts into the batter while they are still hot so that the white and dark chocolates chunks start to melt when you stir the nuts through, creating swirls of molten real chocolate in the baked slices. Divine.

And fyi, warming the slices up in the microwave for about 20seconds and serving each one with a scoop of premium vanilla ice-cream hits the spot like nothing else I know.

 

Mmmm mmm Fudge Brownies

(makes one 9″ tray, about 36servings)

deepavali06-055.jpg

 

¾ cup butter

Scant 1 ½ cups caster sugar (I use vanilla sugar)

2 eggs

 

3 tsp vanilla

 

½ cup cocoa (Hershey’s is good here)

 

¾ cup plain flour

 

¾ cup pecans (or any other nuts)*

 

½ cup white chocolate buttons*

 

½ cup dark chocolate chunks/chips*

 

*These are just approximate measures. You can use as much or as little of these…or anything else you want.

 

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degree F. Butter a shallow 9” tray and line the base with parchment paper.

2. Melt butter over the stovetop. As soon as melted, turn off the heat and stir in sugar with a wooden spoon. The heat will help the sugar dissolve into the butter. Give it a few stirs and let cool for a bit.

3. At this time, toast the pecans in the oven on a baking sheet until they turn a dark brown, about 10-12 minutes.

4. Add in the eggs and vanilla to the butter mixture. Beat with the wooden spoon until the mixture is smooth.

deepavali06-049.jpg

 

5. Add in cocoa and flour (do not sift). Stir vigorously with the wooden spoon for 1-2 minutes, until the batter is smooth and shiny. Stir in chocolate chips/chunks/buttons.

deepavali06-052.jpg

6. By this time, the pecans should have been toasted so remove them from the oven and quickly chop them coarsely. It’s hot, I know, but if you work quickly you won’t really feel it. Or wear gloves if you have to. (If for some reason, the nuts are no longer warm either cos the chopping took too long or the toasting was done earlier, just bung the baking sheet back in the oven for a few minutes to heat them up)

7. Stir in the chop nuts into the batter for about a minute, until you can see the swirls of melted chocolate.

deepavali06-054.jpg

8. Pour the batter into the prepared tray and bake at 350 degree F for about 23-28 minutes, until the top is flaky and a toothpick/skewer inserted 2 inches from the center comes out with a few crumbs still clinging onto it.

9. Cool for about 5 minutes and turn out onto wire rack/plate to cool.

P/S: This recipe works great halved as well if you use a 6” square tray.  

36 thoughts on “Best Cocoa Brownies

  1. Mmm…mmmm..ummmm….the best words to describe a good brownies 🙂 haha..is there ANY way they could be made without eggs…Pleaseeee dont say NO 😀

  2. Priya, I’ve never tried them without eggs!..a little ‘fraid to do so ‘cos I think the fudginess in a large part has to do with the eggs..BUT never say never… I shall try them out one day and post about the results! Let’s hope for the best…haha…

  3. Hi juz picked up baking ever since started uni. Cuzzin (Shalini) recommended ur blog. Gonna try ur recipes and see how they turn out. Thankz in advance!

  4. Pingback: cocoa brownie-cake « she paints the kitchen red

  5. yum, looks delish! is there any special reason you dont sift the flour and cocoa? my recipe has pretty much the same ingredients ( I think this is standard) but I have reduced the sugar so much it doesnt have the cracked top anymore.

  6. Hi Lita, I guess there’s no need to sift the flour and cocoa cos sifting is mainly to give cakes a light, airy texture and for these brownies, I aim for dense and fudgy…that’s why there’s no raising agent either…
    And I’ve tried reducing the sugar before but I can’t take it! I need the full 11/2 cups in there.haha.

  7. Pingback: cookies ‘n’ cream brownies « she paints the kitchen red

  8. These brownies were wonderful…very dense and rich. Went very quickly! I just used toasted walnuts & dark chocolate chunks…yummy!

    • One of my friends has an egg allergy so his family uses vegetable oil instead. It’s actually not bad… Though i still prefer eggs

  9. i’ve been looking for a great, not just good brownie recipe for a long time and these are just FABULOUS! crunchy on the outside, chewy and fudgy on the inside… mmm soo good! thanks for the recipe 🙂 it is now my favourite

  10. WOW~ these are FAB! seriously, i’ve been looking for a great, not jsut good brownie recipe for a long time… there any basically two types of brownies, either cakey in texture or fudgy. These are crispy on the outside, and chewy and fudgy on the inside. You are a GENIUS! i have tried many other recipes including the Mrs Fields one, etc. these are the best you will find, easy to make, cheap (because it uses cocoa instead of chocolate) and just so goood! thanks for the recipe, you just made my day 🙂

  11. note to self: must not navigate to this page unnecessarily as it results in the irresistable urge to bake and consume copious amounts of brownies/chocolate….

  12. nana, oh no, really??

    Normally my sugar dissolves a little at least, in the hot butter. Of course, not ALL of it, because that is a LOT of sugar… but enough to make the batter smooth in the end.

    Dare I ask how the brownie tasted eventually? 🙂

  13. hi! the brownies look real good 😀

    i have a quick question though, the cocoa used it baking cocoa right? not hot chocolate cocoa? 😀

  14. Unfortunately, this was a MAJOR disaster for me! Your brownies look absolutely spectacular but i dunno what happened to mine… i followed the recipe to a T, except that i use the metric version and had to convert most of the ingredients into grams!! According to my calculations, the butter was 170gms and flour 85gms but it didn’t work at all! The batter was too thick and looked more like a sticky cookie dough… it dint even fill up my 6″ pan !!
    The top wasn’t flaky at all after baking and the end result was simply terrible! I think it was because of the conversion… it would REALLY help if you could add grams next to the ingredients to make it easier for people using metric!

  15. Tastegoblet….

    I just made your brownie recipe… but, being of the creative persuasion and not having any nuts or chocolate chunks, I turned to the enormous bag of candy my neighbor pawned off on me. (He works for M&M Mars Co.). I pulled out three bags of peanut M&M’s and dumped them in.
    The other thing I thought of when making these brownies is my father-in-law’s affinity for coffee.
    Did you know, he can actually tell the difference between coffee that has been sitting for more than 5 minutes and “fresh” coffee??!!! No, really, I tried to trick him!!!
    So, for this reason, I took the left over coffee from this morning… reduced it on the stove to a pretty stiff concentration and put about 1/8 of a cup of it into the sugar/butter/vanilla mixture. I had to compensate with a little extra sugar by about 1/8 of a cup and then also with about 1/4 cup more flour.

    HOLY SMOKES! java M&M blackies — I call them blackies because I used Hershey’s dark chocolate cocoa powder. … they are as black as night…. OH.. I also used 1/4 tsp of salt because I’ve always loved the enhanced taste that the salt brings. YUM- E !!!
    Thanks for this perfect recipe. I’ve been searching for about 15 years for a recipe that makes brownies like I had at a party once. MAN.. it has been quite a crusade. LOL. You are the MASTERRRRR.

    Alice in Wonderland

  16. Hi Alice… nice to know your brownies turned out great. Actually i did use all purpose flour but it still didn’t turn out good… I’m pretty sure i messed up during conversions… i have no idea what i did wrong !
    Taste goblet’s brownies look AMAZING… just how i like them… chewy, dense with a flaky top. I wish i knew how to perfect them 😦

  17. The first time I made this, they were gone in 1 weekend and my boyfriend’s family accused me of scheming to make them all fat. My aunt who dislikes milk and dark chocolate actually enjoyed this (she prefers white chocolate).

    I have another batch of brownies in the making right now and am waiting for the smell to waft through the house. This time I used a food processor to quickly chop the nuts while still hot, so I managed to have ‘swirls’ of white and dark chocolate. The first time I took ages to chop the nuts so I did not have that swirling effect.

    I must say though this has a more fudgey than cakey texture, but sinfully delightful all the same 🙂

  18. Thank you for the receipe. I made it 2 days ago and it was great. The only problem was that the brownie crumpled before putting it in the mouth. I don’t have a sqaure pan, so i used a round pan. It was crispy on the side and fudgey in the centre.

    I am making another one now, this time, I reduced the flour, hopefully, it will turn out better than before.

  19. Hey i would love to try n make these but i do not want to add any sugar.can i know if it is possible n if any alteration is needed?

  20. I just baked these and they turned out well! Halved the recipe and added more chopped walnuts and they were soooooo delicious, easy to make, definitely that best brownies recipe I’ve ever tried!

  21. Nachrichten berichten über das Sportgeschehen,
    sei es nun die Fußball Weltmeisterschaft oder die Olympischen Spiele
    2008 in Peking, oder andere sportliche Ereignisse, hier wird man immer gut unterrichtet.

  22. In der heutigen Arbeitswelt, sollte an mindestens 4 Tagen in der Woche eine moderate Bewegung von mindestens
    30 Minuten durchgeführt werden.

Leave a Reply

