Caramel / Fudge / Nuts / Slices / Vegetarian

toffee almond fudge

Again with my fascination for indian sweets, here was my attempt at toffee almond fudge, a recipe I got from an Indian vegetarian cookbook that my aunt had sent me from the States. But strangely enough, the end product doesn’t taste like an indian sweet at all…there was no ghee, or spice. I guess this was something taking from the Western style of fudge making, cos it tasted remarkbly like a nutty version of caramel fudge. Don’t get me wrong, it was quite nice…milky and with a lovely toffee flavour..but ultimately very American fudge-like. And another thing was with our weather, I couldn’t leave the tray of fudge to sit out in the open..it refused to set. So it had to be popped into the fridge, where it thankfully did not harden immensely. It still has the requisite fudginess that is so important for chewy sweets. Combined with the crunch of toasted almond chunks and the milky caramel sweetness of the fudge, I was quite pleased with the end result. The only thing I guess is important is to have really fresh milk powder available so that you get the best taste outta each slice of fudge.

Ingredients. Not too many but all quite luxe. Almonds, danish butter, demerara sugar, cream…

 

Sugar and butter boiling away to make the caramel

 

Poured into a lightly greased tray…

 

…and sprinkled with toasted almonds

 

Toffee Almond Fudge

(makes about 50 pieces of fudge)

-recipe from Cooking With Kurma, Chakra Press-

250g unsalted butter

1 1/2 cup raw or demerara sugar

1 cup pouring consistency pure cream

1 cup whole almonds, roasted and chopped coarsely

3 3/4 cups full cream powdered milk

extra toasted flaked almonds for decoration

  1. Melt butter over low flame in a heavy saucepan. Add sugar, and stir constantly over moderate heat until sugar dissolves.

  2. Cook for another 5-10 minutes until the mixture develops a light caramel color. You should be able to detect a slight toffee fragrance.

  3. Remove the pan from heat and allow to cool for 5minutes. Stir in the cream and nuts. Using a wire whisk, gradually mix in the powdered milk, 1/2 a cup at a time, stirring vigorously to remove any lumps. When the mixture is very thick and just hangs on the whisk, it is ready.

  4. Scrape the mixture into a lightly greased 25 by 30cm tin. Smooth out the top and sprinkle over with toasted almond flakes. Allow to cool completely, slice into 1 inch squares or other shapes and store in the refridgerator.

Slices of quite decadent toffee almond fudge

5 thoughts on “toffee almond fudge

  1. First time commenting here.

    You would put a professional baker to shame. Honestly, I was just going thru your posts and both the bakes and Indian sweets are absolutely divine looking and I can only imagine the taste.

    Great work!! Keep them coming. I am going to try out a few of your recipes and probably keep bombarding you with queries..:):)

  2. Hi mariya…
    you know what.. I’m amazed by your truffle bouquets and was thinking of making them as gifts myself! *grin* And the kesari post is dedicated to you…if you ever try it out, do let me know how it turns out..

    Hi sailaja,
    thank you so much for the compliments, coming from you I must say I’m flattered. I absolutely LOVE your site and am constantly left with my jaw hanging at the food you cook. Amazing! I’m planning to try your gulabjamun recipe soon.. so perhaps we could volley each other with questions! =)

  3. Brilliant job! Your website has really inspired me. I am wondering if I could use other type of chocolate instead of Valhona and what about yogurt, can i use plain yogurt instead??? Can I have the recipe for your frosting?

    Thanks. Once again keep it coming.

  4. I think any other good quality bittersweet chocolate would work just as well. Lindt for example… And as for the yoghurt bit, I read around on the web and they generally don’t recommend substituting Greek yoghurt with plain because of the difference in texture. But there are a few sites that teach you how to make your own Greek yoghurt from plain yoghurt…maybe you want to try that?
    These are the sites I found to be useful:
    http://www.ochef.com/257.htm
    http://kitchensavvy.typepad.com/journal/dairy/index.html

    And as for the chocolate icing , I really did not think it was that great. But the latest one I made to go with my Nigella cupcakes is quite yummy. Maybe you want to refer to that post for that chocolate buttercream recipe?

Leave a Reply

