Chocolate / Cupcakes / Desserts / Fruits / Indian

liberte. and yet pressed for time.

Job contract’s over. Theoretically, you would think that meant I was free. But nope. Still busy. But at least busy doing stuff I like. Marketing. Cooking. Cleaning. A regular stepford wife- minus the spiffy clothes and accessories.

Anyways, been cooking everyday. And trying my best to take pictures of everything but often, I’m rushed for time, since lunch is served so early in my house that I just can’t stop to snap photos. But I did manage a few…

These were my going away cupcakes for everyone at work. Varlhona chocolate batter, with chocolate chuncks folded through, and buttercream flower-tips. Very well-received. But then, when can you go wrong with chocolate? =) Right after my last day, I worked all night and day, preparing 2 trays of brownies, 2 trays of triple-layer fudge slices, 100 mini cupcakes and 4 strawberry sponge cakes for a nurse’s day party. I was so exhausted I tell ya….I didn’t even have the energy to take a single shot of anything. It was like mix-bake-cool-pack-mix-bake-cool-pack for 3 whole days! But I hope the nurses enjoyed everything.. I’ve yet to ask how everything tasted.

My attempt at gulabjamun- fried milk pastry balls soaked in a cardamon and clove infused rosewater syrup. I followed the recipe to a T but the end product was not what I was going for… although the syrup was lovely. Sigh.. I am thinking of popping my my favorite Indian eatery one day and asking them for their recipe. Think they will be kind enough to share??

Fresh Bing cherries. Tried them in two desserts. One a cherry clafoutis and the other cherry friands. The friands won hands down. The yummiest batter I’ve tasted in a long long while. Almost like a buttery almond cake and so easy to put together. Definitely a must-try…. and you dun even need the cherries. Im perfectly certain it’ll be amazing with blueberries, strawberries or even plain… Really yummy.

Cherry friands -from Best Food-

3/4 cup icing sugar

1/4 cup plain flour

90g butter, melted

3 egg whites

1/2 cup ground almonds

125g fresh cherries, pitted and chopped

(or any other fruit- or none at all)

  1. Preheat oven to 170 degree C.

  2. Sift icing sugar and flour into bowl. Whisk egg whites till foamy. Add butter, egg whites and almond meal into flour mixture. Using a wooden spoon, stir until just combined.

  3. Divide mixture amongst cupcake holders. Top with cherries.

  4. Bake for about 25mins.

7 thoughts on “liberte. and yet pressed for time.

  1. oh gosh those cupcakes look wonderful!!! anyway i’m just wondering… is your buttercream soft? i’m trying to find a recipe for a buttercream that has a thicker consistency, no to avail, yet.

  2. hey mariya,
    I actually play around with the proportions of butter and sugar till I get a stiffer icing, cos the heat here is awful. I realise that if you add more sugar to your butter (no need of milk or water- vanilla and food coloring are my only other ingredients)the buttercream will set well even w/o refridgeration. I just keep on beating in the sugar till the buttercream looks really stiff. And I think another trick is to continue beating the mixture for a full 5 minutes aFTEr you get your desired consistency to fluff it up. Hope all that helps! =)

  3. thanks a lot! i think buttercream looks good in pictures from the west cuz of their weather huh… no chance for us here. the problem is that too much sugar will make it supersweet, a problem for me because i’m in search for a “perfect-consistency” cupcake frosting, so i don’t want it to be too sweet. i’ll try that 5-minute thingy, see how it turns out. 🙂

  4. C, I completely love your site. You are so talented with your baking and cooking that I wish I could go to your kitchen every day. yuuuuuuummmmyyyy!!

  5. jamie, thanks for d compliments..makes me blush.. =)glad you enjoyed the pics and everything else!
    And mariya, have you ever tried italian or swiss buttercreams? They are so much less sweet than the normal icing sugar & butter ones…but they DO need to be refridgerated.. And also, I do have a recipe for kesari.. I’ll make it and put up a post soon!–>

Leave a Reply

