Coconut / Desserts / Local dishes / Slices / Vegetarian

coconut candy

Local sweets 101.

Coconut candy:- Much loved, tropical treat that originated from Malaysia. Freshly grated white coconut flesh, truckloads of granulated sugar and liberal lashings of full-fat evaporated milk. To up the decadence quotient, a ‘healthy’ knob of butter. Extremely popular during Hari Raya and Deepavali, in a mindboggling array of colors. Semi-hard upon biting into a cube of this heavenly-smelling dessert, it almost instantanously dissolves in your mouth, spreading into a sugary coconut-ty molten mass. Only for those who like their coconut and their sugar though, cos that’s all this candy is about.

 

Coconut candy (recipe courtesy of Letchmi aunty)

3 cups freshly grated white coconut flesh, packed down

3 1/4 cups coarse white sugar

3/4 tin evaporated milk

1/3 cup butter, softened

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

desired food coloring

  1. Grease a 9″ tray with butter
  2. Dry roast the coconut in a non-stick wok over medium heat until most of the moisture evaporates and the coconut is slightly dry.
  3. Pour in 3 cups of sugar and all the evaporated milk. Stir well. Add extra sugar to taste.
  4. Stir stir stir. Continously. Until the mixture thickens and slightly comes off the edges of the wok. Will take up to 1/2 hour.
  5. Add softened butter and continue to stir.
  6. When the mixture is really thick, quickly add in vanilla essence and coloring.
  7. Continue to cook over medium heat, stirring all the time. The candy is ready when the mixture leaves the sides of the wok, almost like a lump. Also, the mixture will lose some of its shine, almost going matte.
  8. Working quickly, pour out the mixture into the greased tin and flatten top with the back of a clean spoon.
  9. Let cool ten minutes and cut into squares whilst warm. Let cool completely before breaking off into tiny brightly-colored squares and serving. Store in an air-tight container.
16 thoughts on “coconut candy

  1. looks wonderful, but i guess i’ll only eat if i didn’t know the amount of sugar that goes into it! haha. been a long time since i had this. 🙂 the ones sold at shops always taste too artificial for my liking.

  2. ya, def won’t rec making it yourself if you’re scared of sugar. When I measure it out, I’m always thinking I’ve done something wrong, cos it jus seems too much. But then again, what’s candy without unhealthy refined sugar? =)–>

  3. Hi,
    coconut candy is one of my fav food so i will certainly try your recipe. Thanks for putting this up and the delicious pict! I could just eat the photo, looks so yummilicious!

  4. Pingback: Coconut Candy among some of my favourite food One at Peter Cat blogs

  5. Hi,
    Thank you so much for the long searched recipe. It has been so long since I ate the last coconut candy. My niece offered me some lately and it made my crave for it. Thanks again. As for the sugar, I only see that it is all up to us to know what is the suitable amount. Try first, then adjust it for the next one. 🙂

  6. Hi thanks for the receipe, it’s one of my favourite n my mum like to do it when i was a kids and now i did ask her she forget but i will try your and it seem like very similiar to what my mum use to do thanks again and have a nice day

  7. I’m so glad to have found this recipe. I made this candy over 20 years ago and totally forgot how to do it. As i was searching for the recipes for coconut candy, I recall some of the recipes out there had missing ingredients. When i found this recipe, i realised that this was the one that i was looking for. It’s my family all time favourite. It’s a MUST TRY!

  8. Thank you so much for posting this recipe up , I was in dire straits as i could not get hold of a proper recipe online and i really wanted to make this candy for my daughter , once again my thanks to your aunt letchmi , this is my first time doing it and i hope it will be a success .

  9. Hi aunt letchmi,

    Many many thanks for the recipe. It really worked out well when i tried out and got ample compliments about the taste and the way it looked. I always thought coconut candy could only be made by candy experts but now I could proudly announce that I had became one through aunt letchmi. Once again, my heartfelt thanks…

  10. Hi,

    I can’t find fresh grated coconut here. If I use dessicated coconut and coconut powder (and water), please tell me how much of each of the 3 do I need to get equivalent of 3 cups of fresh coconut……….thanks in advance

  11. Pingback: Legi Balkan Pharmaceuticals Steroids

  12. Pingback: Traditional Indian Sweets To Sweetened Your Buds During Deepavali - Fly FM

  13. Pingback: Traditional Indian Sweets To Sweeten Your Buds During Deepavali - Fly FM

Leave a Reply

