Chocolate / Cupcakes / Fruits

tiny orange butter cupcakes with chocolate glaze and chocolate buttercream

I made orange cupcakes last night, and decided to pair them with something chocolate. I made two frostings, one a chocolate glaze, the other a chocolate buttercream.
The verdict: Though the buttercream piped beautifully and made for a lovely presentation, taste-wise, it was too rich for the already buttery cake. And because I made really tiny cupcakes, it just seemed like too much frosting for too little cake. Maybe a citrus cream cheese frosting would have been much better. The cupcakes with the chocolate glaze icing on the other hand, were much tastier, since the icing was just drizzled, instead of piped on…which meant that there was alot more cake than icing. Really allowed for the flavor of the orange to come through.

I love zesting oranges. Such a sharp, citrus tang. And your hands smell so good after that 🙂

I dug up these really cute moulds from my kitchen cupboards. I think I used them to make tiny fruit tartlets many many years ago.

And they are perfect to bake cupcakes too!

See how pretty they turned out…like miniature bundt cakes. Just make sure you grease and flour the tins so that the cakes don’t stick to the sides.

I decided to use chocolate glace for these bite-sized cakes, with a sprinkling of icing sugar on top. Definitely the winner.

The second place goes to the cupcakes baked in these lovely green holders. Normally, I use these to make cornflake cookies..and I was a little worried if the thin paper could hold the heavy cake batter without collapsing. But I doubled the paper cases for each cupcake and it was fine.

There we go. Lovely-looking tiny cupcakes frosted with chocolate buttercream. But still, second to chocolate glazed orange butter cupcakes! *smile*

6 thoughts on “tiny orange butter cupcakes with chocolate glaze and chocolate buttercream

  1. dear d…
    thanks!my grandma always says you need to show ya food love and patience for it to turn out well.. and it’s always a good idea to listen to grandma *grin*

  2. WOw, I wonder how get this much time to create mouthwatering treats? BTW I shortlisted few of ur eggless recipes, I have to go and get some ingredints :). Will comeback to u with feedbacks/questions to bug you:))

  3. hi there…i know it’s been a while since you posted this, but i can’t resist tiny things and the bite-sized cakes are just adorable. i’d love to know what size moulds you used? i’m going to order some, but wasn’t sure what size would be best. thanks!

  4. i’m quite often jumping about the online world almost all of the morning therefore I have the inclination to read a great deal, which unfortunately isn’t usually a good factor as the largest part of the internet sites I discover are made up of unnecessary garbage copied from similar web sites a trillion times, but I gotta give you props this webpage is indeed not bad at all and has got a bit of unique information, for that reason thank you for helping to stop the trend of simply duplicating other individual’s blogs and forums, in case you ever want to have fun with playing a few hands of myspace poker together just hit me up – you have my e mail 🙂

Leave a Reply

