Caramel / Chocolate / Cookies / Pies & Tarts / Vegetarian

busy baker bee

Okay, I’m not always such a crazy workhorse in the kitchen, but this is break week, and I have tonnes of assignments due. Which translates to a very stressed out me with lots of free time on ma hands. So of course, instead of pursuing the logical option of using all that time to get some schoolwork done, I typically choose to bake instead, thereby superficially quelling all that tension. Aah… I never learn.
Anyhows, met up with a couple of friends yesterday for tea and I volunteered to bring dessert…any excuse to bake. heh. Got a fantastic recipe for a
caramel chocolate-chunk tart from feeding dexygus seconds. Okay, see, just the name gives you the shudders doesn’t it? How could you/I possibly pass by without giving the recipe a try?? And so, despite my recent falling-out with all things caramel, I decided to give it a go. Afterall, the best way to overcome hurdles is to fight them straight on rite?
And I must say, victory was sweet, sacrilegiously so. Chunks of melty chocolate, smothered with a smooth caramel, on a sweet, crisp tart shell. Sin at its most delish! Ony wished we had some vanilla ice-cream to up the decadence quotient *grin*.
Look at all that chocolate! Found whatever chocolate I had on hand and broke them all into the tart shell. There’s van houten extra cocoa milk, lindt 70%, and guylian 65% in there. A potent mix 🙂
Pour on the caramel-cream mixture, bake, slice, serve. Couldn’t be bothered to take a nice picture even. Excuse the crumbs.
And then today afternoon, whilst catching up on my readings, my fingers started itching again. So I put down the incredibly boring The Hindu Diaspora: comparative patterns and very innocently started browsing through my recipe notebook. Before I knew it, I was in my kitchen, measuring out flour and sugar! I need help.
But in my defence, everybody needs a batch of freshly-baked gingernut biscuits in their cookie cupboard don’t they??
See, aren’t they pretty? And quite fast to whip up too. So TeCHniCaLLy, I didn’t waste thaat much time in the kitchen. And when you calculate the utility a batch of yummy spice cookies give you, I practically didn’t waste any “valuable time” at all.
Economically-sensible Gingernut Biscuits
(makes about 50)
1 cup plain flour
1/4 tsp bicarbonate of soda
1/2 tsp ground allspice
3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
3/4 tbsp ground ginger
60g cold butter, diced
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/8 cup boiling water
1/2 tbsp golden syrup
  • Preheat your oven to 180 degree C.
  • Sift together flour, b.soda and spices into a large bowl. Using your fingers, rub in cold butter till the mixture is all crumbly. You gotta work fast, cos Mr.Humidity is NOT our friend here in Singapore, as my previous post so delicately explains.
  • Stir in the sugar. Dissolve the golden syrup into the boiling water and pour over the flour mixture. Mix to form a soft dough.
  • Pinch out small bits of dough and roll to form balls. I usually take about 1 1/2 tsps worth of dough for each ball. Place on ungreased baking trays, and flatten slightly with your fingers.
  • Bake till a nutty brown, about 12-15 minutes. These cookies burn quite easily so remember to check on them!
5 thoughts on “busy baker bee

  1. It’s a thick sugary syrup … they sell it in most supermarkets. I use the Lyle’s brand, it comes in a dark green tin. If you can’t get it, you can either use light corn syrup or even honey as a substitute.

  2. caramel chocolate-chunk tart link is no longer working. I think E site is gone. Do you have the recipe? I wld love to have it. Pls? 🙂

  3. You know what Linda? I never did copy down the recipe!! 😦 And the site I got it from has since closed, like you said. 😦 😦
    I’ve been trying to look for the recipe in other sites but I have not been able to get it yet. I’ll continue to search and I’ll post it up if I do find it. *fingers crossed*

Leave a Reply

